Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2016

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: National Electronics Museum. January 2016

Photo Source: Daderot. National Electronics Museum, 1745 West Nursery Road, Linthicum, Maryland, USA. [Interior view.] Wikimedia Commons, 21 July 2014.

National Electronics Museum. January 2016

The National Electronics Museum is located in Linthicum, Maryland. The exhibits include machinery on the history of the United States defense electronics; among them telegraphs, radios, radars and satellites.

Gallery: Surratt House. April 2016

Photo source: Hawkeye58. The Surratt House in Clinton, Maryland in May 2006. Wikipedia.  The Free Encyclopedia, 14 May 2006. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surratt_House_Museum#/media/File:SurrattHouse.jpg

Surratt House. April 2016

The Surratt House is a historical house museum located in Brandywine Road, Clinton, Maryland built by John and Mary Surratt in 1852. Mary Surratt was hanged in 1965 as co-conspirator in President Abraham Lincoln Assassination. It was opened to the public sinde 1976 as a museum.

Gallery: Jefferson Patterson Park. September 2016.

Photo Source: Acroterion. The park visitor center, a former barn. Wikipedia contributors. "Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 3 May. 2020. 

Jefferson Patterson Park. September 2016.

Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum is located in Calvert County, Maryland and the park has about 70 archaeological sites. Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum is a state of Maryland Park is a property of 560-acres was donated to the State of Maryland by Mary Marvin Patterson in 1983 and the park was named after her husband Jefferson Patterson. JPPM is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

JPPM has also the biggest conservation lab for underwater and other objects in Maryland and it is called the Maryland Archaeological Conservation Laboratory (MAC Lab).

Gallery: Lincoln’s Cottage: At the Soldiers’ Home. October 2016

Photo Source: Gunther, Eric T. Front entrance to Lincoln's Cottage. September 2018. Wikipedia Contributors.  "President Lincoln's Cottage at the Soldiers' Home." Wikipedia. "The Free Encyclopedia".  June 1st, 2020.  en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/President_Lincoln%27s_Cottage_at_the_Soldiers%27_Home

Lincoln’s Cottage: At the Soldiers’ Home. October 2016

President Lincoln's Cottage at the Soldiers' Home was formerly known as the Anderson House, and is located near Bookland, Washington, D.C., it lays on the grounds of the Soldiers' Home, known today as the Armed Forces Retirement Home. 

Several presidents of the United States used this Gothic-style architecture  house seasonally. Among those first families were those of President Abraham Lincoln, President Rutherford B. Hayes, President Chester Arthur and President James Buchanan. 

Gallery: George Read II House and Gardens. November 2016.

Photo source: Klotz, Jerrye and Roy Klotz. [MD]. Son of the signer of the declaration of independence and constitution. This house is a reconstruction of the original which burnt down. Created: 22 December 1970. Wikipedia contributors. "Read House and Garden." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 3 Jun. 2019. Web. 9 Jun. 2020.

George Read II House and Gardens. November 2016.

The Read House was built in 1793 by George Read II, son of George Read, signator of the Declaration of the Independence, The Read House is located between Harmony and Delaware Streets, downtown New Castle Delaware. It is an example of a brick building house of Federal Period architecture and Adamesque Philadelphia Architecture. Currently the owner of the Read House is the Delaware Historical Society.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography