Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2020

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

National Inventors Hall of Fame. January 2020

Photo source: Otsubo Kazuhisa (Photographer). Top left: National Inventors Hall of Fame and Museum, USPTO building in Alexandria, Virginia, 24 Sep. 2014.

Photo source: Moog synthesizers. National Inventors Hall of Fame.

Photo source: Interactive kiosk for inventor information. National Inventors Hall of Fame.

National Inventors Hall of Fame. January 2020

"The mission of the National Inventors Hall of Fame® (NIHF) is recognizing inventors and invention, promoting creativity and advancing the spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship."  Source: NIHF website. 2020.  www.invent.org/about-us 

The National Inventors Hall of Fame (NIHF) It is a Museum dedicated to engineers and patent inventors founded in 1973 by H. Hume Mathews from the office of  the National Council of Patent Law Associations (now the National Council of Intellectual Property Law Associations)

Gallery: C & D Canal. Chesapeake City, Delaware- April 2020

Gallery photo source: Chesapeake City Bridge crossing the Chesapeake & Delaware Canal at Chesapeake City, Maryland.  www.nap.usace.army.mil/sb/c&d.html

C & D Canal. Chesapeake City, Delaware. April 2020

The C & D Canal stands for the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal which is a 14 mile-long deep ship canal that connects the Delaware River with the Chesapeake Bay.  The Canal is run by the US Army Corps of Engineers and as a landmark it sets the northern limit to the Delmarva Peninsula.

Gallery: Ladew Topiary Gardens. May 2020.

Gallery photo source: LaDew Topiary Gardens www.ladewgardens.com/

Ladew Topiary Gardens. Monkton, Maryland. May 2020.

Ladew Topiary Garden is located in Monkton, Maryland.  The garden is a Topiary and  displays the work concerned with the trimming, shaping and training of ornamental plants to give them attractive shapes and figures.

Gallery: Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens. September 2020.

Gallery photo source: Hillwood Estate, Museum and Gardens, former home and garden of Marjorie Merriweather Post. 

Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens. September 2020.

Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens was the Georgian style house of philantropist Marjorie Merriweather Post. Among its collections has collections of French Art and also Russian Art. One famous exhibits at the estate is the Romanov's Faberge Eggs collection.

Hillwood Estate, Museum and Gardens is located in Washington, D.C.

Gallery: Glenn L. Martin Aviation Museum. October 2020

Gallery photo source: Wikipedia contributors. "Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 27 Apr. 2020. Web. 18 May. 2020.

Glenn L. Martin Aviation Museum. October 2020

The Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum is located at  the Martin State Airport in Middle River, Maryland.  It is themed on the life of Glenn L. Martin and it is about aviation with descriptions on the Glenn L. Martin Company and the more recent, Lockheed Martin Company. 

Gallery: National Museum of Civil War Medicine. November 2020

Gallery photo source: Wikipedia contributors. "National Museum of Civil War Medicine." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 17 Jan. 2020. Web. 18 May. 2020.

National Museum of Civil War Medicine. November 2020

The National Museum of Civil War Medicine has information about the surgeon tools and military hospital ward in the area of Frederick, Maryland. The approximate dimensions of the Museum are about 650 square meters in which you can see the tools used in an army camp of that era.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography