Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2005

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. January 2006.

Photo Source: NASA. Backdropped against the blackness of space, Discovery is seen from the International Space Station as the two orbital spacecraft accomplish their relative separation on March 7 after an aggregate of 12 astronauts and cosmonauts worked together for over a week. During a post undocking fly-around, the crew members aboard the two spacecraft collected a series of photos of each other's vehicle. 7 March 2011.  Photo-iss026e032223 (nasa.gov)

National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. January 2006

The Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center is the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum's annex at Washington Dulles International Airport in Fairfax County, Virginia. The Center has several exhibits; among them the Space Shuttle Discovery, the Enola Gay, and the Gemini 7 space capsule.

Gallery: The Textile Museum. January 2005

Photo Source: Cetrone, Ariel (WMDC). The George Washington University Museum and The Textile Museum.[The Textile Museum's current location at The George Washington University's Foggy Bottom Campus as of March 2015], Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 10 August 2017.

The Textile Museum. January 2005

The Textile Museum is an art museum located on the Washington, D.C., Kalorama neighborhood dedicated to the appreciation of the world of textiles.

Gallery: Harley Davidson Factory. April 2005

Photo Source: CMetalCore. Harley-Davidson logo. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 27 November 2016.

Harley Davidson Factory. April 2005

Harley-Davidson, Inc., is an American motorcycle manufacturer founded in 1903 in Wisconsin. Harley-Davidson has many factories around the world including York, Pennsylvania, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Kansas, Manaus (Brazil), Bawal (India), and Thailand.

Gallery: Adkins Arboretum. May 2005

Image: Clip art.

Adkins Arboretum. May 2005

The Adkins Arboretum is located in Rigedly Maryland (Caroline County). It is a botanical garden devoted to trees.

Gallery: Havre de Grace Decoy Museum. September 2005

Image: Clip art.

Havre de Grace Decoy Museum. September 2005

The Havre de Grace Decoy Museum is located on the historic Susquehanna Flats in Havre de Grace, Maryland. The Museum  preserves the legacy of waterfowling and decoy making in the Chesapeake Bay area.

Gallery: Landis Valley Farm & Museum. October 2005

Photo Source: Smallbones. Landis Valley Mumeum. Landis house.[Landis Valley Museum a site run by the Pennsylvania Historic and Museum Commission (PHMC) including historic buildings built on site, others moved there, others built to imitate historic buildings. This is the main Landis house, a historic building built on site 1879.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 3 September 2012.

Landis Valley Farm & Museum. October 2005

The Landis Valley  Museum is a 100-acre living history museum located in Lancaster Pennsylvania. The Museum is operated by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission.

Gallery: B&O Museum. November 2005

Photo Source: B&O Mount Clare Station (Baltimore).[ Mount Clare Station (foreground), the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad's original passenger station in Baltimore, Maryland. B&O trains operated from this site beginning in 1830. The existing station structure built in 1851 is now part of the B&O Railroad Museum, along with the roundhouse (background).]. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 13 September 2008.

B&O Museum. November 2005

The B&0 Museum exhibits historical railroad equipment. It was opened on July 4, 1953, in the old Mount Clare Station in Baltimore. Mount re was the site of the railroad passenger service that started on May 22, 1830, and also a telegraph station where the first electric telegraph from Samuel Morse was sent.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography