Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2010

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: The U.S. Capitol. January 2010

Photo Source: Diliff. The Dome of the US Capitol Building. Wikimedia Commons, 27 March, 2006. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:US_Capitol_dome_Jan_2006.jpg

The U.S. Capitol. January 2010

It has been called the Capitol Building. Located on Capitol Hill, Washington, D.C. is the home of the US Congress and the Legislative branch of the federal government.

Gallery: Smithsonian Sant Ocean Hall. February 2010

Photo Source: Jantzen, M. V. Sant Ocean Hall. [Ocean Find your Blue.] Smithsonian Natural Museum of Natural History. n.d. //ocean.si.edu/sant-ocean-hall

Smithsonian Sant Ocean Hall. February 2010

The biggest exhibit of the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History is the Sant Ocean Hall. It has hundred of marine specimens, videos and models. 

Gallery:Terracotta Warriors at the National Geographic. March 2010.

Photo source: Jmhullot. The Terracotta Army. [ "Pit one, which is 230 metres (750 ft) long and 62 metres (203 ft) wide,[30] contains the main army of more than 6,000 figures. Pit one has 11 corridors, most of which are more than 3 metres (9.8 ft) wide and paved with small bricks with a wooden ceiling supported by large beams and posts. This design was also used for the tombs of nobles and would have resembled palace hallways when built. The wooden ceilings were covered with reed mats and layers of clay for waterproofing, and then mounded with more soil raising them about 2 to 3 metres (6 ft 7 in to 9 ft 10 in) above the surrounding ground level when completed."] Wikipedia,  the Free Encyclopedia, 19 April 2015.  

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terracotta_Army#/media/File:Terracotta_Army,_View_of_Pit_1.jpg 

Terracotta Warriors at the National Geographic. March 2010.

The Terracotta Warriors are terracotta sculptures depicting the guardians of Qui Shi Huang, first Emperor of China.  They were buried with the Emperor and date from 210-209 BCE. The purpose of these art funerary objects were to accompany Emperor Qui Shi Huang in his afterlife.

Gallery: National Museum of Civil War Medicine. April 2010

Photo source: Harej. National Museum of Civil War Medicine. [Entrance.] Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia, 14 June 2014. 

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Museum_of_Civil_War_Medicine#/media/File:National_Museum_of_Civil_War_Medicine_entrance.JPG

National Museum of Civil War Medicine. April 2010

The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is located in Frederic, Maryland. It contains displays on medical practice during the Civil War (1861-1865). The museum opened to the public in 1996.

Gallery: U.S. Naval Academy Museum. July 2010

Photo Source:  Logo of the U.S. Naval Academy Museum. U.S. Navy - Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, n/d. www.usna.edu/Museum/ 

U.S. Naval Academy Museum. July 2010

The U.S. States Naval Academy Museum is a maritime museum part of the U.S. Naval Academy. It is located on Preble Hall, Annapolis, Maryland.

Gallery: Smithsonian National Museum of American History. August 2010

Photo Source: Smithsonian Institution americanhistory.si.edu/

Smithsonian National Museum of American History. August 2010

The Smithsonian Museum of American History is located on the National Mall, in Constitution Avenue NW and 14th Street, Washington D. C.

Gallery: Mount Clare House Museum. August 2010

Photo source: PubDog. Mount Clare, Baltimore, MD. Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia, December 2011. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Clare_(Maryland)#/media/File:Mount_Clare_Baltimore_MD_Dec_11.JPG

Mount Claire House Museum. August 2010

Gallery: The Pentagon. August 2010

Image: Clip Art.

The Pentagon. August 2010.

The Pentagon is the building that headquarters the U. S. Department of Defense and it is located in Arlington county, Virginia, across from the Potomac river.

Gallery: Goddard Space Flight Center. November 2010

Image: Clip Art.

Goddard Space Flight Center. November 2010

The Goddard Space Flight Center was founded on May 1st, 1959 as the first space flight center and it is located in Greenbelt, Maryland, United States.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography