Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2008

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Homewood House. January 2008

Photo Source: Rdsmith4: Homewood house at Johns Hopkins University. Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia,  3 September 2004. 

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homewood_Museum#/media/File:JHU_Homewood.jpg

Homewood House. January 2008

Palladian architecture  house located in Baltimore, Maryland that eventually became the Homewood campus of the Johns Hopkins University.

Gallery: The National Archives and Records Administration. March 2008

Photo Source: Seal of the The National Archives and Records Administration. Wikimedia Commons, Uploaded 20 Sep. 2007. 

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Archives_and_Records_Administration#/media/File:Seal_of_the_United_States_National_Archives_and_Records_Administration.svg

The National Archives and Records Administration. March 2008

The National Archives and Records Administration is known as NARA. This agency of the United States government is independent and it is in charge of the preservation and documentation of government and historical records.

NARA is headquartered in the National Archives Building  located North of the National Mall, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue, Northwest Washington, DC.

Gallery: National Arboretum. April 2008

Photo Source: AgnosticPreacherKid. The National Capitol Columns. [Originally supported the East Portico of the United States Capitol -1828-1958.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 23 May. 2020.  

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_National_Arboretum#/media/File:National_Capitol_Columns_-_Washington,_D.C..jpg

National Arboretum. April 2008

The United States National Arboretum is located in northeast Washington, D.C. and it was established in 1927. In total it has 446 acres and it is managed by the USDA. The arboretum has a library, an archive, and an herbarium.

Gallery: Montpellier Mansion. September 2008

Photo Source: Quarterczar. Montpellier Maryland. Wikipedia, 1 May 2007. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montpelier_Mansion_(Laurel,_Maryland)#/media/File:Montpellier_Maryland_2.jpg

Montpelier Mansion. September 2008

The Montpelier Mansion, a five-part Georgian plantation is located in Laurel, Prince George's County Maryland. It is also known as the Snowden-Long House Mansion and New Birmingham.

Gallery: Geppi's Entertainment Museum. October 2008

Photo Source: Jllm06.Baltimore, Maryland First editions of famous comic books at Geppi's Entertainment Museum. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 23 June 2007. 

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geppi%27s_Entertainment_Museum#/media/File:Geppis_Museum_First_Edition_Comic_Books.jpg

Geppi's Entertainment Museum. October 2008

The Geppi's Entertainment Museum was a privately own pop culture museum located at Camden Station at Camden Yards Baltimore. Its exhibits' themes were newspapers, magazines, comic books, movies, television, radio and video games.

Gallery: Kreeger Museum. November 2008

Photo Source: AgnosticPreacherKid. Kreeger Museum. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 8 November 2019.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kreeger_Museum#/media/File:Kreeger_Museum_-_Washington,_D.C.jpg

Kreeger Museum. November 2008

The Kreeger Museum is a modern and contemporary art Museum located at the former house of David Lloyd Kreeger and Carmen Kreeger in Northwest, Washington, D.C.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography