Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2019

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: National Building Museum. January 2019

Photo Source: "National Building Museum Facts": National Building Museum. Archived from the original on June 1, 2011. [The National Building Museum's Corinthian columns are among the largest in the world measuring 75 ft. (23 m) tall and 8 ft. (2.4 m) in diameter.] Wikipedia contributors. "National Building Museum." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 14 Apr. 2020.

National Building Museum. January 2019

The National Building  Museum features exhibits about architecture, design, engineering and urban planning. When created it was known as the Pension Building. The building was constructed and designed by Montgomery Cunningham Meigs  the US Army quartermaster general. It is located at 401 F Street NW in Washington, DC.

Gallery: The Baltimore Basilica. February 2019

Photo source: Wikipedia contributors. "Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Baltimore)." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 21 May. 2020.

The Baltimore Basilica. February 2019

The Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, also known as Baltimore Basilica, is the first Roman Catholic Cathedral built in the United States. The cathedral was designed by Architect Benjamin Henry Latrobe who is considered the "Father of American Architecture".

Gallery: Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. March 2019.

Photo source: An aerial photo of the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center located at Chantilly, VA taken Dec 18, 2004. Wikimedia Commons, 19 Apr 2018, 18:33 UTC. commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?title=File:StevenFUdvarHazy.png&oldid=297645967

Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center. March 2019.

The Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center is an annex with two aviation hangars of the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museuem located in Chantilly, Virginia. It has exhibits of planes and space vessels including the the "Gemini 7" capsule, the "Enola Gay" and the Space Shuttle "Discovery". The Buildings are named after Steven Ferencz Udvar–Házy who is is a Hungarian American billionaire businessman, and the CEO of Air Lease Corporation. 

Gallery: NEWSEUM. April 2019.

Photo source: Hearn, Martin. “Entrance of the Newseum”. History of News! Wikimedia Commons, 27 April 2011. 

Photo Source: Abeall. “Exhibit of historic newspaper at the Newseum in Washington DC.” Wikimedia Commons, 14 February 2013. 

NEWSEUM. April 2019.

The Newseum was a museum in Washington DC that focused on communication. In one of its galleries had sections of the Berlin Wall. Other exhibits such as the Today's Front Page gallery included the daily covers of about 80 international newspapers. Other exhibits presented themes about the First Amendment, freedom of the press, radio, internet and 9/11.

Gallery: Montpelier Mansion. September 2019

Photo source:Wikipedia contributors. "Montpelier Mansion (Laurel, Maryland)." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 5 Mar. 2020.

Montpelier Mansion. September 2019

Montpelier Mansion is a Georgian style slave plantation house. Other names of the mansion have been the Snowden-Long House, New Birmingham and Montpelier. It's first residents were Major Thomas Snowden and wife Anne. Montpelier Mansion was built between 1781 and 1785 in Laurel, Maryland.

Gallery: Museum of the Bible. October 2019

Photo Source: Fuzheado. Museum of the Bible, November 4, 2017. Washington, D.C. Exterior front, looking up. Wikipedia contributors. "Museum of the Bible." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 20 May. 2020.

Museum of the Bible. October 2019

The Museum of the Bible is a museum located on  400 4th Street South West Washington, DC. The museum exhibits the narrative and history of the Bible. The Museum of the Bible is non-sectarian and non-political.

 

Gallery: Sagamore Spirit Distillery. November 2019

Photo source: Sagamore Spirit Distillery in Google maps and reviews.

Photo source: Sagamore Spirit Distillery in Google maps and reviews.

Photo Source: Sagamore Spirit Distillery in Google maps and reviews.

Sagamore Spirit Distillery. November 2019

The Sagamore Farm is a distillery of Rye Whiskey located in Port Covington, Maryland.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography