Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2012

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Washington's Navy Yard Museum. January 2012.

Photo Source: Maclean, David C. Aerial view of the Washington Navy Yard. [The Forest Sherman class destroyer ex-USS BARRY (DD 933) is visible, center.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 25 June 1985. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_Navy_Yard#/media/File:Washington_Navy_Yard_aerial_view_1985.jpg

Washington's Navy Yard Museum. January 2012.

The Navy Yard Museum is located on the Historical Center of Washington D. C. It has an art gallery and the National Museum of the U.S. Navy with artifacts that date from the American Civil War to the present.

Gallery: Bel Air Mansion and Stables. February 2012

Photo source: Quarterczar.  [Bel Air in August of 2007.]  Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. August 1, 2007.  en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belair_Mansion_(Bowie,_Maryland)#/media/File:Belair_Mansion_1.jpg 

 

Bel Air Mansion & Stables. February 2012.

Belair Mansion is located in Collington, Bowie, Maryland. It is a Georgian plantation house in which breeding of race horses was practiced for 300 years.

Gallery: Frederick Douglas National Historic Site. February 2012.

Photo Source: Smalling, Walter. Frederick Douglass House. [ 1411 W Street, Southeast, Washington, District of Columbia, DC North elevation looking southwest.] Historic American Buidings Survey. Library of Congress Prints and Photograph Division. 1 October 1977.//loc.gov/pictures/item/dc0092/ 

Frederick Douglas National Historic Site. February 2012.

Gallery: Hillwood Estate Museum and Gardens. March 2012

Photo Source: Jllm06. Hillwood Museum Exterior Front. ["Located at 4155 Linnean Avenue, NW Washington, DC. The estate is the former home and garden of Marjorie Merriweather Post. The museum features furnished rooms decorated with Post's collection of 18th and 19th century French art and art treasures from Imperial Russia. The house was originally known as Arbremont and was designed by John Deibert in 1926."] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 17 April 2009.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hillwood_Estate,_Museum_%26_Gardens#/media/File:Hillwood_Museum_Exterior_Front.jpg

Hillwood Estate Museum and Gardens. March 2012

Hillwood Estate and Gardens is the former residence of collector and philanthropist Marjorie Merriweather Post. It has a large arts collection including Russian and French art.

Gallery: Herr's Snack Factory- March 2012

Image: Clip Art.

Herr's Snack Factory. March 2012.

The Herr's Visitors' factory and center are located in Nottingham Pennsylvania. The company is famous for its potato chips of the same name and other snacks.

Gallery: St. Mary's City. April 2012

Photo source: Acroterion. The State House.  [Reconstruction of the original 1676 Maryland Statehouse, Maryland's first capitol and the home of the Maryland colonial assembly, stands on the original site.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 30 June 2009.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Mary%27s_City,_Maryland#/media/File:St._Mary's_State_House,_Maryland.jpg

St. Mary's City. April 2012

The Historic St. Mary's City is the first settlement and colonial capital of the State of Maryland. The city has several living history museums.

Gallery: Fort McHenry. May 2012

Photo Source: Fort McHenry Social Media Team. Forth McHenry. [This is an aerial view of Fort McHenry, a pentagonal fort near the harbor in Baltimore, MD.] National Park Service, 29 September 2017. 

//www.nps.gov/media/photo/gallery.htm?id=1C27E1E2-155D-451F-6739965D63726B10

Fort McHenry. May 2012

Fort McHenry is located at Locust Point, Baltimore, Maryland. The pentagonal fort is known for its role in the battle of September 13 and 14 during the War of 1812. A battle that inspired Francis Scott Key on the writing of the Star Spangled Banner.

Gallery: Choptank River Boat Cruise. September 2012.

Choptank River Boat Cruise. September 2012

The Choptank River boat company has reproductions of paddle wheeler boats that operate from their Suicide Bridge Marina. The business is located on Hurlock, Maryland on the Choptank River.

Gallery: Elizabeth Seton Church. October 2012

Photo Source: Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton  [Mother Seton, the first native born American to be canonized by the Roman Catholic Church.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 13 Jul. 2020. 

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Ann_Seton

Elizabeth Seton. October 2012

Elizabeth Ann Bayley Seton was the first saint from the United States canonized by the Catholic Church. In Emmitsburg, Maryland she founded the first school for Catholic girls.

Galery: American Visionary Arts Museum. October 2012.

Image: Clip Art.

American Visionary Arts Museum. October 2012.

The American Visionary Art Museum is a museum located in Federal Hill, Baltimore, Maryland. It's founder and director is Rebecca Alban Hoffberger. The museum has displays of outsider art also known as raw art, art brut and intuitive art. The idea of the American Visionary Art Museum came about from the program People Encouraging People, which works with psychiatric patients.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography