Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2009

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Terracotta Warriors at National Geographic. February 2009

Jmhullot. The Terracotta Army. ["Pit one, which is 230 metres (750 ft) long and 62 metres (203 ft) wide,[30] contains the main army of more than 6,000 figures.[31] Pit one has 11 corridors, most of which are more than 3 metres (9.8 ft) wide and paved with small bricks with a wooden ceiling supported by large beams and posts. This design was also used for the tombs of nobles and would have resembled palace hallways when built. The wooden ceilings were covered with reed mats and layers of clay for waterproofing, and then mounded with more soil raising them about 2 to 3 metres (6 ft 7 in to 9 ft 10 in) above the surrounding ground level when completed."] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 19 April 2015. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terracotta_Army#/media/File:Terracotta_Army,_View_of_Pit_1.jpg

Terracotta Warriors at National Geographic. February 2009

The Terracotta Warriors are terracotta sculptures depicting the guardians of Qui Shi Huang, first Emperor of China.  They were buried with the Emperor and date from 210-209 BCE. The purpose of these art funerary objects were to accompany Emperor Qui Shi Huang in his afterlife.

Gallery: Calvert Maritime Museum. March 2009

Photo source: Sampsonsimpson20. Drum Point Lighthouse. [West shore of Back Creek, Calvert Marine Museum Solomons Island.] Wikimedia Commons, 3 October 2012. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Drum_Point_Lighthouse.JPG

Calvert Maritime Museum. March 2009

The Calvert Maritime Museum is located in Solomons, Maryland and holds materials on paleontology, maritime life of the Chesapeake region and Maritime history.

Gallery: The Newseum. September 2009

Photo Source: Monack, David. Newseum.  [Pennsylvania Ave. facade and entrance, in Washington, D.C.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 29 March 2008. //en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newseum#/media/File:Newseum.jpg

The Newseum. September 2009

The Newseum first location was Rosslyn, Virginia. It opened on April 18, 1997 and later was relocated to Washington, D.C. on April 11, 2008. It had displays about the First Amendment to the United States Constitution, a display of newspapers from around the world, the September 11 attacks, the Internet, television and radio. Parts of the Berlin Wall were displayed as well as part of the exhibits.

Gallery: Carroll County Farm. October 2009

Photo source: Van Ells, Mike. Carroll County Almshouse and Outbuildings. ["Carroll County Almshouse and Outbuildings. Main building lower floor used for dining and administrative, upper floors for women and children. Building to the right was used for sleeping quarters for men. Today, the main building lower floor is used as a farmhouse museum showing 6 rooms of an upper middle class home in the late 19th century. Building to the right houses craft demonstrations."] This is an image of a place or building that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in the United States of America. Its reference number is 75000878. Wikimedia Commons , 7 December 2007. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:CarrollCountyAlmshouseAndOutbuildings.jpg

Carroll County Farm. October 2009.

It is also known as the Carroll County Almshouse and Farm and it is a historic farm with several buildings located in Westminster, Carroll County, Maryland.

Gallery: Oriole Park at Camden Yards. November 2009.

Photo Source: Allison, Keith. Oriole Park at Camden Yards. [During the National Anthem, prior to an afternoon game.] Flickr, 2013. www.flickr.com/photos/keithallison/

Oriole Park at Camden Yards. November 2009.

Oriole Park at Camden Yards is the name of the downtown home of the Baltimore Orioles. The park is located a few blocks from the Inner Harbor.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography