Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2014

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Fort Mead Museum. January 2014

Photo source: "Army Museums: Ft. Meade" . U.S. Army Military Center of Military History. n.d.  history.army.mil/museums/IMCOM/fortMeade/index.html

Fort Mead Museum. January 2014

The Fort George G. Meade Museum is a U.S. Army museum containing historical artifacts about members of the United States Army.

Gallery: Reginald F. Lewis Museum. January 2014

Photo source: Rflewis01. Reginald F. Lewis Museum Living History Tour. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 30 September 2012.  en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reginald_F._Lewis_Museum_of_Maryland_African_American_History_%26_Culture#/media/File:Reginald_F._Lewis_Museum_Living_History_Tour.jpg

Reginald F. Lewis Museum. January 2014.

The Reginald F. Lewis Museum of Maryland African- American History & Culture is located two blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. The museum is named after the first African-American to build a billion-dollar company, the TLC Beatrice International Holdings.

Gallery: Historic St. Mary's City. February 2014

Photo Source: Acroterium. The State House. [ A reconstruction of the original 1676 Maryland Statehouse, Maryland's first capitol and the home of the Maryland colonial assembly, which stands near the original site.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 30 June 2009.  en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Mary%27s_City,_Maryland#/media/File:St._Mary's_State_House,_Maryland.jpg

Historic St. Mary's City. February 2014

Historic St. Mary's City is  the fourth oldest permanent English settlement in the United States.  It is considered the birthplace of religious freedom in the United States. 

Gallery: National Watch and Clock Museum. April 2014

Photo Source: Clip Art.

National Watch and Clock Museum. April 2014

The National Watch and Clock Museum run by the National Association of Watch and Clock collectors, and it is dedicated to horology which is the science and art of keeping time. It is located in Columbia, Pennsylvania.

Gallery: Ford’s Theatre. March 2014

Photo Source: Difference Engine. Ford's Theatre. Wikipedia, the Free Encyclopedia, 16 October 2016. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford's_Theatre#/media/File:Ford's_Theatre_2016.jpg

Ford’s Theatre. March 2014

The Ford's Theatre is mostly known as it was the place where President Abraham Lincoln was fatally wounded by a gun shot on April 14, 1865. The theatre and the Petersen House are administered by the National Park Services. The Ford's Theatre  is located in Washington, D.C.

Gallery: Dorothy and Megan Riverboat. September 2014

Photo source: Morgan's Feathering Paddlewheel. Dingley, Andy. [Scan from Evers, Henry (1975). Steam and the Steam Engine: Land and Marine. Glasgow: Williams Collins.

Dorothy and Megan Riverboat. September 2014

The Dorothy and Megan Boats are reproductions from stern paddle wheeler operated by the Choptank River boat Company.

Gallery: Anne Arundel County Free School. November 2014

Photo Source: PubDog. Anne Arundel County Free School. Wikimedia Commons, 29 December 2009.

commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Anne_Arundel_County_Free_School_Dec_09.JPG

Anne Arundel County Free School. November 2014

The Anne Arundel County Free School, located in Davidsonville, Maryland and it is the only surviving free school created by the Maryland Free School Act of 1723. The school is a museum managed by the Anne Arundel Retired Educators Association.

Gallery: Maryland Historical Society. November 2014

Photo Source: Logo of the Maryland Center for History and Culture. [Former Maryland Historical Society. Wax Seal.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 7 January 2017. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maryland_Center_for_History_and_Culture#/media/File:Mdhs-waxSeal-CMYK.jpeg 

Maryland Historical Society. November 2014

The Maryland Historical Society [MdHS] is housed at the Enoch Pratt House in Mount Vernon neighborhood of Baltimore. The Maryland Historical Society was founded on March 1, 1844. It is the oldest cultural institution in the United States.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography