Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2006

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Sports Legend Museum at Camden Yards. January 2006.

Photo Source: Horne, Andrew. Sports Legends Museum Camden Yards [Sports Legends Museum at the former B&O Railroad's Camden Station]. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 17 July 2010.

//en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sports_Legends_Museum_at_Camden_Yards

Sports Legend Museum at Camden Yards. January 2006.

The Sports Legends Museum at Camden Yards was a non-profit sports museum in Baltimore, Maryland, United States, owned and operated by the Babe Ruth Birthplace & Museum. It opened on May 14, 2005. It operated for 10 year and closed on October 12, 2015. The Museum exhibited artifacts about Maryland’s sports history.

Gallery: National Museum of the American Indian. January 2006

Photo Source: Highsmith, Carol M. National Museum of the American Indian. Library of Congress,  [Between 1980 and 2006.]  http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/highsm.12698

National Museum of the American Indian. January 2006

The National Museum of the American Indian is a museum about the culture the indigenous peoples of the Americas. It is part of the Smithsonian Institution.

Gallery: National Postal Museum. February 2006.

Image source: Smithsonian Postal Museum.

National Postal Museum. February 2006

The National Postal Museum is located on Massachusetts Avenue, near Union Station in Washington, D.C., United States, it is a Smithsonian Institution Museum, and The Museum opened its doors to the public in 1993.

Gallery: The Hippodrome Theater. February 2006.

Photo source: Teda13. Hippodrome Theater. [Exterior of the Hippodrome Theater in Baltimore, MD. after its renovation in 2004.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 23 March 2004.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hippodrome_Theatre_(Baltimore) 

The Hippodrome Theater. February 2006.

The Baltimore Hippodrome is a performing arts theater and it is part of the France-Merrick Performing Arts Center located on Eutaw Street, Baltimore. It was built in 1914 for Marion Scott Pearce and Scheck.

Gallery: Smithsonian Albert Einstein Planetarium. April 2006.

Photo Source: Schmutzer, Ferdinand. Albert Einstein during a lecture in Vienna in 1921. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Einstein 1921 by F Schmutzer - restoration - Albert Einstein - Wikipedia

Smithsonian Albert Einstein Planetarium. April 2006.

The Albert Einstein Planetarium is a public planetarium located on Independence Avenue and 6th Street in Washington, D.C. It is part from the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum.

Gallery: Ellicott City. June 2006

Photo Source: Saghirian, Scott. "Funny Ellicott City Fire House Shot.".[Main Street and Church Lane in Ellicott City]. Wikimedia Commons, 25 April 2008. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ellicott_City,_Maryland#/media/File:Funny_Ellicott_City_Fire_House_Shot.jpg

Ellicott City. June 2006

Ellicott City's historic downtown it is located in the valleys of the Tiber and the Patapsco Rivers. It is often called "Historic Ellicott City" or "Old Ellicott City". Ellicott City is part of the Baltimore Metropolitan Census Area.

Gallery: Linganore Winecellars. September 2006

Image: Clip Art.

Linganore Winecellars. September 2006.

Linganore Winecellar was established in 1983 in what is called Linganore Viticultural Area, comprised by 90 square miles of land in Berrywine Maryland.

Gallery: Skipjack H.M. Krentz. November 2006

Photo Source: Acroterion. Skipjack HM Krentz and pushboat. [Chesapeake Bay skipjack H. M. Krentz and its pushboat at the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum, Saint Michaels, Maryland]. Wikpedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 17 July 2008. Skipjack H.M. Krentz and pushboat - Skipjack (boat) - Wikipedia

Skipjack H.M. Krentz. November 2006

The skipjack is a sailboat used on the Chesapeake Bay for oyster dredging. In 1985 the skipjack was designed as the state boat of the State of Maryland.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography