Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2015

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Hammond-Harwood House. January 2015

Photo source: Chuckatuck. Hammond Hardwood House [Maryland Avenue Façade.] 18 September 2007. Wikimedia Commons. commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:HamHarwood_House_(Md._Ave._Facade).jpgmond-

Hammond-Harwood House. January 2015

The Hammond- Harwood House is a colonial house built in 1774. It was built drom a plate designed by Andrea Palladio's The Four Books of Architecture (1570).  The house was designed by William Buckland (1773-1774) for Matthias Hammond of Anne Arundel County, Maryland. Currently the House is managed by a non-profit organization.

Gallery: The Fire Museum of Maryland. February 2015.

Image: Clip art.

The Fire Museum of Maryland. February 2015

The Fire Museum of Maryland was founded in 1971. The Museum is located in Lutherville, Maryland. The Fire Museum of Maryland explains and interprets the history of the urban fire service in the United States. The museum contains the collection of the Stephen G. Heaver family.

Gallery: National Arboretum. April 2015.

Photo Source: Greb, Peggy: The Knot Garden. [ It is named the Knot Garden for the pattern of the evergreen shrubs, is located within the National Herb Garden at the U.S. National Arboretum.] United States Department of Agriculture, 13th Aug. 2016. ars.usda.gov/is/graphics/photos/may05/k11846-1.htm

National Arboretum. April 2015

The National Arboretum is operated by the United States Department of Agriculture. On it's ground there is great deal of botanical research of variety of plants, including trees, shrubs turf and ornamental plants. 

Gallery: Clara Barton Missing Soldiers Office. May 2015

Photo source: " Clara Barton." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Mar 20 2020. fr.wikipedia.or/w/index.php? .

Clara Barton Missing Soldiers Office. May 2015

Clara Barton, Born Clarissa Harlowe Barton , pioneer American nurse who founded the Red Cross and who embarked on the mission to locate missing soldiers from the American Civil War. The Museum in her name is located on 7th Street , Washington DC and was Barton's residence during and after the Civil War. In July 2015, the museum officially opened to the public. 

Gallery: John Dickinson Plantation. September 2015

Photo Source: Boucher, Jack F.  John Dickinson Mansion. [Kitts Hummock Road, off State Road 68, 0.3 mile east of intersection with State Route 113.  Kent County , Delaware.]  www.loc.gov/resource/hhh.de0015.photos?st=gallery 

John Dickinson Plantation. September 2015

The John Dickinson Plantation House is Georgian architecture-style mansion. The house is also known as Poplar Hall and it is located in Dover, Delaware.  The house was the residence of Founding Father  John Dickinson. The John Dickinson Plantation House is a National Historical Landmark.

Gallery: Maryland State House. October, 2015

Photo Source: Thisisbossi. Annapolis: Sunset over State House.  Wikimedia Commons, 19 September 2006. 2006_09_19_-_Annapolis_-_Sunset_over_State_House.JPG (2592×1944) (wikimedia.org)

Maryland State House. October, 2015

The Maryland State House is located in downtown Annapolis,Maryland on State Circle.  It served as the nation's capitol. The Maryland State House is where the Maryland General Assembly convenes for three months a year.

Gallery: Gettysburg Battlefield, November 2015

Photo Source: Gettysburg, Pa. November 1863. [Dedication of Gettysburg battlefield.] Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. Washington, D.C. 20540 USA hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/pp.print (digital file from original item) ppmsca 32850 hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/ppmsca.32850

Gallery: Gettysburg Battlefield, November 2015

The Gettysburg Battlefield is within the 10 miles located in the Gettysburg-Newark Basin where the engagements of the Battle of Gettysburg took place between July 1-3, 1863 during the Civil War of the United States of America.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography