Skip to main content Skip to guide navigation
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Guild for Life Bibliographies

The Truxal Library provides guides to the Anne Arundel Community College Guild for Life with library resources for their monthly visits to Museums of the Mid-Atlantic and other attractions.

Trips on 2011

Out and about: Guild for Life Bibliographies

Andrew G. Truxal Library compiles monthly a bibliography for the The Guild for L.I.F.E. to accompany members to their trips and/or tours. Each month the Guild for Life visits museums, parks, gardens, art galleries and factories from the Mid-Atlantic region. For more information, please visit: The Guild for Life.

This archive of past trips is a great resource to identify special places to visit in our region. Browse by year to to see trips that are all day trips from AACC. 

Gallery: Smithsonian Museum of American History. February 2011

Photo Source: Highsmith,Carol M. Aerial view of the National Museum of American History, located on the National Mall in Washington, DC. The Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, among other buildings in the Federal, is visible in the background. Library of Congress Print and Digital collection, 5 May 2008. loc.gov/pictures/resource/highsm.04970/ 

Smithsonian Museum of American History. February 2011

The Smithsonian Museum of American History is located on the National Mall, in Constitution Avenue NW and 14th Street, Washington D. C.

Mount Clare Museum . March 2011

Source: Pubdog. Mount Clare, Baltimore, MD, December 2011. 15 December 2011. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mount_Clare_Baltimore_MD_Dec_11.JPG.

Mount Clare House Museum. March 2011.

Mount Clare is the 1760s Georgian home of early Maryland politician and patriot, Charles Carroll, Barrister.

Gallery: The Pentagon. April 2011

Image: Clip Art.

The Pentagon. April 2011

The Pentagon, located in Arlington County, Virginia, was designed as building by George Bergstrom (American Architect); and it is the headquarters of the U.S. Department of Defense.

Gallery: Franciscan Monastery of the Holy Land in America. May 2011

Photo Source: Sobkowski, Abraham OFM. The Mount St. Sepulchre Franciscan Monastery. [Located at 14th and Quincy Streets near the Brookland neighborhood of Northeast Washington, D.C.] Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 1 January 2006. 

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franciscan_Monastery_of_the_Holy_Land_in_America

Franciscan Monastery of the Holy Land in America. May 2011

The Franciscan Monastery of the Holy Land in America is located on Quincy Street on Northeast Washington, D. C. The Monastery includes several shrines, archives and a library. The monastery and the Memorial Church are listed on the on the National Register of Historic Places. 

Gallery: Boordy Vineyards. September 2011

Image: Clip Art.

Boordy Vineyards. September 2011

Boordy Vineyards in Hydes, Maryland opened in 1945.

Gallery: Frederick Douglass National Historic Site. September 2011.

Photo Source: Smalling, Walter and the Historic American Buildings Survey. Frederick Douglass House. [1411 W Street, Southeast, Washington, District of Columbia, DC North elevation looking southwest.] Library of Congress's Prints and Photographs division . 1 October, 1977. www.loc.gov/item/dc0092/

Frederick Douglass National Historic Site. September 2011.

The Frederick Douglass National Historic Site, is located in Anacostia and it contains the house that Douglass, prominent African American abolitionist, called Cedar Hill.  Frederick Douglass lived in Cedar Hill from 1877 to 1895.

Gallery: Moore's Candies. October 2011

Image: Clip Art.

Moore's Candies. October 2011

Moores Candies Inc is located at  3004 Pinewood Ave in Baltimore, Maryland.

Gallery: Anderson House & Phillips Collections. November 2011

Image: Clip Art.

Anderson House & Phillips Collections. November 2011

The Guild for life visited two collections this month: Those of the Phillips Collection has many thousands of work of French impressionism and American modernism and the Anderson House.

The Anderson House was the former residence of Ambassador  Larz Anderson and his wife and their residence, visited by  the elite of the United States had an extensive collection from the Anderson's trips abroad.

 

Gallery: Hillwood Estates.

Photo source: Stierch, Sarah. Plate at Hillwood Estate, Museum and Gardens in Washington, DC. Wikimedia Commons, 1 December 2018. //commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Hillwood_Estate_-_Dec_2018_-_Stierch_01.jpg

 

Hillwood Estates.

Hillwood Estate, located in Washingon, D.C., was the house of philanthropist and collector Marjorie Merriweather Post. The Estate is known for a large collection of French art and decorative items of the House of the Romanov.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography