Research Guide to Careers: Library Resources

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

jobs   OR   employment
education   OR   training
accounting   OR   accountant

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

• the Location of the item in the Library Building 
• the item's Call Number 
• whether the item is available or has been checked out 

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Research Guides describe and provide access to the most useful resources available through Truxal Library for particular fields of study, including the best databases to use. Use Research Guides to discover and develop research topics within a particular discipline:

• African American Studies
• Architecture
• Business
• Careers
• Criminal Justice & Homeland Security
• Culinary Arts & Food Science
• Current Controversies
• Dance
• Education
• Gender & Sexuality Studies
• Health & Wellness
• History
• Legal Resources
• Literary Criticism
• Music
• Philosophy
• Psychology
• STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math
• Sustainability
• Theater Arts
• Visual Arts
• World Cultures

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Business Insights: Global
Search for industries, companies, and professions to find newspaper, magazine, trade publication, and journal articles; company histories; financial reports; investment reports; market share reports; SWOT analyses; and more 

Business Source Premier
Search for industries, companies, and professions to find newspaper, magazine, trade publication, and journal articles; market research reports; industry profiles; SWOT analyses; and more

National Newspapers and The Sun
Find newspaper articles from The Sun, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, New York Times, and more

Ebook Central
Over 20,000 electronic books covering many subjects, including many related to finding careers and jobs

EBSCO eBook Collection
Around 50,000 electronic books covering many subjects, including many related to finding careers and jobs

Small Business Resource Center
Articles, reference books, and legal forms dealing with the creation and maintenance of small businesses

NOT ENOUGH INFO?  Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic OneFile and Academic Search Premier

NEED MORE SPECIFIC INFORMATION? Looking for a career in a specialized field? Try using a subject-specific database (like a Criminal Justice database, or one in Education, Health and Wellness, Science, etc.):  DATABASES BY SUBJECT

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

• Best Jobs for the 21st Century  (Ref) HF4381 .F37
• The Business Plans Handbook  (Ref) HD62.7 .B865
• The Business Writer's Handbook (Ref) HF5726 .A388
• Careers in Education and Training (Ref) LB1775.2 .C374
• Emily Post's The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success  (Ref) HF5389 .P675
• Encyclopedia of Careers & Vocational Guidance  (Ref) HF5381 .E52
• Entrepreneurial Women: New Management and Leadership Models (Ref) HD6072.5 .K45 2014
• The Essential Guide to Federal Employment Laws (Ref) KF3455 .G835
• Federal Resume Guidebook (Ref) JK716 .T73
• Gallery of Best Resumes for People without a Four-Year Degree (Ref) HF5383 .N622
• Knock 'Em Dead Resumes: Smart Advice to Make Your Online and Paper Resumes More Productive (Ref) HF5383 .Y384
• Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business (Ref) KF1659 .S745
• Life after the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans (Ref) UB357 .H55
• Maryland Employment Law (Ref) KFM1534 .M39
• Maryland Workers' Compensation Handbook (Ref) KFM1524 .G55
• Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Professions (Ref) R121 .M89
• Occupational Outlook Handbook  (Ref) HF5381 .O3
• Patterns of Economic Change by State and Area: Income, Employment, and Gross Domestic Product (Ref) HF1016 .B863
• Small Business and Entrepreneur's Resource Guide for Anne Arundel County  (Ref) HF5041 .S55 
• Unbeatable Resumes: America's Top Recruiter Reveals What Really Gets You Hired  (Ref)  HF5383 .B433
• Women and Equality in the Workplace: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HD6095 .G48
• The Work and Family Handbook: Multi-Disciplinary Perspectives, Methods, and Approaches  (Ref) HD4904.25 .W6626

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.