Skip to Main Content

Research Guide to Philosophy: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching philosophy

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

reason   OR   logic
thinking   OR   thought 
idea   OR   ideology   

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building 
  • the item's Call Number 
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Gale Academic OneFile
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like Philosophy East and West, Questions: Philosophy for Young People, Cosmos and History: The Journal of Natural and Social Philosophy, and more

Academic Search Premier
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like Journal of Social Philosophy, Journal of Applied Philosophy, British Journal for the History of Philosophy, Journal of Moral Philosophy, and much more

Project MUSE
Articles from scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like The Journal of Speculative Philosophy, Journal of the History of Philosophy, Philosophy & Rhetoric, and much more

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections
Full text of scholarly literary journals like Philosophy East and West (1951-2005) and Journal of the Warburg and Courtauld Institutes (1937-2003)

Proquest Ebook Central
Over 20,000 electronic books covering many subjects, including a a number of titles on philosophy topics 

EBSCO eBook Collection
Nearly 50,000 electronic books, covering all academic disciplines

Credo Reference
Reference book titles Encyclopedia of Classic Philosophy, like The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers, and much more

MagillONLiterature Plus
Includes all three volumes of World Philosophers and Their Works

Gale eBooks
Book titles like Encyclopedia of Philosophy and more

Academic Video Online
Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries about philosophy and religion

Searching for Full Text

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Print Reference Materials

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

  • The Encyclopedia of Philosophy   (Ref) B41 .E5 
  • Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics  (Ref) BL31 .E4
  • Ethics  (Ref) BJ63 .E54 2005
  • A History of Women Philosophers   (Ref) B105 .W6 H67 1987
  • Key Ideas in Human Thought   (Ref) B41 .K48 1993
  • The Oxford Companion to Philosophy  (Ref) B51 . O94 2005
  • The Routledge Dictionary of Philosophy  (Ref) B41 .L32 2010
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Religion  (Ref) BL48 .T35 2003
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Moral Issues  (Ref) BJ1012 .T24 2006
  • Women Philosophers   (Ref) B105 .W6 K47 1989
  • World Philosophers and Their Works  (Ref) B104 .W67 2000
  • Women Theorists on Society and Politics  (Ref) H61 .W66 1998

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.