Research Guide to Architecture: Library Resources

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

functionalism   OR   rationalism
sanctuary   OR   chancel
oriel window   OR   bay window

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

• the Location of the item in the Library Building
• the item's Call Number
• whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

ARTstor
Millions of high-resolution images of historical and contemporary architecture, decorative arts, design, painting, photography, sculpture, and other forms of visual culture; includes zooming, panning, and rotating functions, as well as physical details

Oxford Art Online
Information about architects and architecture from Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Academic Search Premier
Articles periodicals like Architectural Engineering and Design Management, Architectural Record, Architectural Review, Journal of Urban Design, Planning, and more

Academic OneFile
Articles from periodicals like Architectural Digest, Buildings and Landscapes, Contract, Journal of Research in Architecture and Planning, and more

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections
Full text of older issues of periodicals like Architectural History, Design Quarterly, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, and more

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes thousands of titles about architects and architecture 

Ebook Central
Includes hundreds of eBooks on architects and architecture

Credo Reference
Book titles like 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture, Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design, Architectural Excellence: 500 Iconic Buildings, The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture, and more

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Titles like The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through World History, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through American History, Icons of American Architecture, and more

VAST: Academic Video Online
Important documentaries and more about architecture

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

• 100 Ideas that Changed Architecture (Ref) NA200 .W478 2011
• African-American Architects: A Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945 (Ref) NA736 .A47 2004
• America Preserved: A Checklist of Historic Buildings, Structures, and Sites (Ref) E159 .A37 1995
• American Architecture: A History (Ref) NA705 .R669 2001
• American House Styles: A Concise Guide (Ref) NA7205 .B33 1994 
• American Shelter: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of the American Home (Ref) NA7205 .W34 1997
• Architect: Teh Work of Prizker Prize Laureates in their Own Words (Ref) NA2335 .A73 2010
• Architects' Data (Ref) NA2590 .N4 1999
• The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice (Ref) NA1996 .A726
• Architectural Graphics Standards  (Ref) TH2031 .A84 2007
• Architectural Inspiration: Styles, Details, and Sources (Ref) NA2840 .S46 2007
• Architectural Theory: From Renaissance to teh Present (Ref) NA2500 .A7116 2006
• Architecture in Annapolis: A Field Guide (Ref) NA730.M3 A73 1998
• Architecture, the Critics' Choice: 150 Masterpieces of Western Architecture (Ref) NA200 .A7 2000
• The Architecture Traveler: A Guide to 250 Key Twentieth-Century American Buildings (Ref) NA712 .L4 2000
• Art and Architecture (Ref) F209 .N47 2006
• ​Biographical Dictionary of American Architects (Ref) NA736 .W52
• BNI Code Finder for Building and Construction (Ref) TH425 .P495 2007
• The Book of Buildings: Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance & Modern Architecture of North America & Europe (Ref) NA703 .R44 1983
• Constructing Architecture, A Handbook: Materials, Processes, Structures (Ref) TA403 .C635 2009
• Contemporary Architects (Ref) NA680 .C625 1994
• Dictionary of Architecture and Construction (Ref) NA31 .H32 2000
• Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (Ref) NA31 .C864 2006
• The Elements of Style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the Present (Ref) NA2850 .E44 1996
• Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture (Ref) NA680 .E495 2004
• Encyclopedia of American Architecture (Ref) NA705 .P3 1995
• Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering & Construction (Ref) NA31 .E5
• Encyclopedia of Art Deco (Ref) N6494.A7 E53 1988
• A Global History of Architecture (Ref) NA200 .C493 2011
• Graphic Standards Field Guide to Commercial Interiors (Ref) TH2025 .B56 2009
• Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture  (Ref) N6260 .G75 2009
• Guide to Architecture Schools (Ref) NA2105 .G85 2009
• Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture (Ref) NA31 .B83 2012
• Illustrated Dictionary of Historic Architecture (Ref) NA31 .H56 1983
• Illustrated Glossary of Architecture, 850-1830 (Ref) NA31 .H34 1978
• Interior Design and Architecture: Critical and Primary Sources (Ref) NK1810 .I58 2013
• Interior Graphic Standards (Ref) TH2031 .M34 2011
• International Building Code (Ref) K3538 .A15 I5 2015
• Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections, and Elevations  (Ref) NA2705 .W44 2004
• Key Contemporary Buildings: Plans, Sections, and Elevations (Ref) NA2705 .G745 2008
• Key Houses of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections and Elevations (Ref) NA7126 .D38 2006
• Key Urban Housing of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections, and Elevations (Ref) NA7126 .F74 2008
• Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects (Ref) NA40 .M25
• Makers of 20th Century Modern Architecture: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook (Ref) NA680 .J628 1997
• Old-House Dictionary: An Illustrated Guide to American Domestic Architecture, 1600-1940 (Ref) NA7205 .P48 1989
• The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture (Ref) N7830.M87 1996
• The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture (Ref) NA687 .P48 2008
• Residential Designs for the 21st Century: An International Collection (Ref) NA7110 .R47 2007
• Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning (Ref) NK2110 .D35 1991
• The Visual Dictionary of American Domestic Architecture (Ref) NA7205 .C27 1994
• A Visual Dictionary of Architecture (Ref) NA31 .C44 2012
• The Whole Building Handbook: How to Design Healthy, Efficient, & Sustainable Buildings (Ref) 2542.36 .B6513 
• World's Greatest Buildings, (Ref) NA200 .W675 2007
• A World History of Architecture (Ref) NA200 .M575 2008

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.