Research Guide to Education: Library Resources

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

literacy   OR   reading
cognition   OR   memory
online instruction   OR   distance learning

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

• the Location of the item in the Library Building
• the item's Call Number
• whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

ProQuest Education Journals
Articles on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics

ERIC
Full text of more than 2,200 educational digests, plus citations and abstracts from over 1,000 journals

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Position papers, periodical articles, reference materials, and more about controversial education topics

Project MUSE
Journals include Education and Culture, Brookings Papers on Education Policy, Journal of General Education, and more

SciVerse ScienceDirect
Journals like Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders, Teaching and Teacher Education, Educational Research Review, and more

Ebook Central
Includes hundreds of education-related electronic books

EBSCO eBook Collection
Nearly 50,000 electronic books, covering all academic disciplines

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Book titles like Encyclopedia of Education, The Psychology of Classroom Learning, Learning and Memory, and more

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Titles like Early Childhood Education, Understanding Disability, Literacy for the New Millennium, and more

Credo Reference
Titles like Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia; Key Concepts in Education; The Encyclopedia of Child Development, and more

Academic Video Online
Documentaries about education and demonstrations of teaching methods, classroom management, student assessment, and more

NOT ENOUGH INFO?  Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic OneFile and Academic Search Premier

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

• Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook: Asperger's Syndrome, ADHD, Dyslexia, Dyspraxia, and Related Conditions  (Ref) RC553 .A88 H4618 2010
• African American Education: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LC2741 .J33 2001
• African Americans at Risk: Issues in Education, Health, Community, and Justice  (Ref) E185.86 .S737 2015
• The Almanac of American Education  (Ref) LA217.2 .A45 2011
• Alternative Schools: A Reference Handbook   (Ref) LC46.4 .C66 2002
• The Assessment Debate: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LB3051 .S66 2001
• Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LC3731 .F45 2002
• The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Education   (Ref) LB14.7 .B57 2003
• Careers in Education and Training  (Ref) LB1775.2 .C374 2016
• The Condition of Education  (Ref) LB2846 .N37
• Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators: Creative Strategies and Practical Solutions  (Ref) KF2995 .C74 2012
• Developing Research & Communication Skills: Guidelines for Information Literacy in the Curriculum   (Ref) LB2361.M62 D48 2003
• Digest of Education Statistics  (Ref) L111 .A6
• Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources  (Ref) LB15 .O2 2000
• Education and Society: An Encyclopedia  (Ref) LC189.95 E38 2002
• Education Reform  (Ref) LA212 .F75 2011
• Encyclopedia of American Education   (Ref) LB17 .U54 2001
• Encyclopedia of Education  (Ref) LB15 .E47 2003
• The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities  (Ref) LC4704.5 .T86 2002
• Encyclopedia of Special Education  (Ref) LC4007 .E53 2007
• Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education: From Piaget to the Present  (Ref) LB17 .F57 2001
• Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: From Confucius to Dewey  (Ref) LB17 .F56 2001
• The Greenwood Dictionary of Education  (Ref) LB15 .G68 2003
• Guide to Online Learning  (Ref) LC5805 .P48 2006
• Handbook of Children in the Media (Ref) HQ784 .T4 H29 2012
• Handbook of Gifted Education  (Ref) LC3993.9 .H35 1997
• Handbook of Reading Disability Research  (Ref) LB1050.5 .H265 2011
• Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education  (Ref) LC1099.3 .H35 2004
• Learning Disabilities, A-Z: A Complete Guide to Learning Disabilities from Preschool to Adulthood  (Ref) LC4705 .S62 2010
• Migrant Education: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LC5151 .G68 2001
• Multicultural and Diversity Education : A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LC1099.3 .A66 2002
• Native American Education: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) E97 .H138 2002
• The Oxford Handbook for Deaf Studies, Language, and Education  (Ref) HV2380 .O88 2011
• The Routledge International Companion to Gifted Education  (Ref) LC3993 .R69 2009
• School Vouchers and Privatization: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LB2828.8 .W45 2002
• Special Education: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LC3981 .S33 2001
• A Stronger Nation Through Higher Education   (Ref) LC148.2 .S77 2010
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Adolescence  (Ref) HQ767.9 T34 2017
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Childhood & Society  (Ref) HQ767.9 T334 2008
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Early Childhood Education  (Ref) LB1139.25 .T34 2008
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Educational Psychology  (Ref) LB1051 .T35 2008
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Lifespan Development  (Ref) BF713 .T35 2009
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Special Education  (Ref) LC3965 .T35 2009
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Teaching and Education Practice  (Ref) LB1607.5 .T35 2008
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Educational Issues  (Ref) LA217.2 .T35 2009
• Teacher Training: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LB2165 .P87 2001
• Understanding Educational Reform: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) LA209.2 .H58 2002

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.