Skip to main content

Research Guide to Current Controversies: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching current controversial topics

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

animal rights   OR   animal cruelty
narcotics   OR   war on drugs
homeland security   OR   national security

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building 
  • the item's Call Number 
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Research by Discipline

Research Guides describe and provide access to the most useful resources availble through Truxal Library for particular fields of study, including the best databases to use.  Use Research Guides to discover and develop research topics within a particular discipline:

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Position papers, reference materials,
periodical articles, statistics, and more examining controversial topics and current events

CQ Researcher
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis of current events and controversial topics in the U.S.

National Newspapers & The Sun
Recent issues of the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Baltimore Sun, and more

Academic Video Online
Issue-based documentaries from around the world on politics, current affairs, and other controversial topics

Credo Reference
Hundreds of reference books

Ebook Central
Includes thousands of books about controversial topics

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes thousands of titles about current controversies

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes hundreds of titles covering controversial topics

Fedstats
Statistics from government agencies

NOT ENOUGH INFO? Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic OneFile and Academic Search Premier

NEED MORE SPECIFIC INFORMATION? Try using a subject-specific research guide, like a Business guide, or one for Education, Law, Psychology, Sustainability, etc.  See the box on the left side of the screen for a list of the library's research guides by subject.

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Reference & Circulating Materials

Truxal Library has a wide selection of reference and circulating materials on current controversies.  Try searching the Library Catalog for "taking sides" or "opposing viewpoints" to find books that tackle controversial topics. 

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography