Open Educational Resources

Two textbooks: "Introduction to Sociology" and "Sociology of the Family."

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community

"MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community."

Psychology modules and materials for teaching and learning

Provides many OER by education level and type of use.

Provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for geography.

Provides many OER by education level and type of use.

Independent UK publisher offering over 300 scholarly e-books on topics in the humanities and social sciences.

Provides free or open many textbooks on geography and geospatial technology.

"Browse a wide selection of textbooks on music."

"Each course includes a full set of class lectures produced in high-quality video accompanied by such other course materials as syllabi, suggested readings, exams, and problem sets. The lectures are available as downloadable videos, and an audio-only version is also offered. In addition, searchable transcripts of each lecture are provided."

"Project MUSE has curated a bibliography of fully open access articles and books relevant to Open Access theme."

"A multimedia/multicultural wiki for teachers and students created by teachers and students."

"It is a network of people who teach anthropology in community colleges, two-year and four-year colleges, universities and pre-collegiate institutions."

An International community of writers, teachers, and researchers provide articles on composition, grammar, rhetoric, and other concepts relevant to writing instruction.

"Explanations (suitable for any age) of the basic elements of music, with suggested activities for introducing the each concept to children at early elementary school level. The course may be used by instructors not trained in music; all necessary definitions and explanations are included."

" Becoming Human is a fast-paced, irreverent introduction to evolutionary theory, especially human origins. "

James F. McGrath’s The Bible and Music offers what no previous textbook on the subject has before. It provides an overview of the intersection of the Bible and music, from ancient Israelite music and the musical notation in ancient Hebrew manuscripts to the reception of the Bible in classical, rock, hip hop, country, and other genres, alongside embedded videos allowing readers to listen as they read. This textbook does all that and more and, as an open textbook, it costs nothing.

Kids Read The Best Stuff, An Openly Sourced Textbook Covering the Study of Children’s Literature.

"This book has been written for adult students of English Language Arts at a Grade 10 level. The book is divided into ten units, each of which focuses on a specific theme; these include food, work, art, money, nature, and more. All units follow the same sequence. Within each unit, students encounter two reading passages; these are followed by questions designed to improve comprehension skills, vocabulary, and critical thinking skills."

This is a textbook for first-semester Spanish with a focus on the cultural products, practices and perspectives of Spanish-speaking communities in the world today.

This open textbook is a comprehensive guide covering the three fundamental topics in Corporate Finance, including Capital Budgeting under Certainty, Capital Structure Theory, and Short-term Financial Management and Operating Leverage. In-depth explanations of topics and terms are provided as well as key illustration in the manner of problem sets and solutions, tables, and diagrams. Review problems are also included so that students can conduct self-assessments.

"A Developmental Systems Guide for Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Practitioners provides clinicians with actionable evidence-based practices for the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of child and adolescent mental and behavioral health. This approach combines developmental psychology and ecological systems in recognition of the fact that children’s developmental challenges, tasks, and capacities intersect with the risks and protective factors of their environment. Chapters feature detailed case studies and conclude with conversations with clinicians in which they share targeted recommendations for patient evaluation, treatment approaches, and family engagement and support."

Contributed by scholars and researchers from around the world,The Economy is the only introductory economics text to equip students with the tools to address today's pressing problems by mastering the conceptual and quantitative tools of contemporary economics.

"Français interactif, a 13- chapter French textbook. was developed at the University of Texas at Austin in the Department of French and Italian."

Social media and humans exist in a world of mutual influence, and humans play central roles in how this influence is mediated and transferred. Originally created by University of Arizona Information scholar Diana Daly, this 2024 "living book" edition of Humans R Social Media welcomes additional authors and features contributions by students to help readers understand how we as humans shape social media, and how social media shapes our world in turn.

This text strives to reach a median between these two approaches. First, I believe that students need to learn the theory and models to understand how economists understand the world.

"OpenStax Introduction to Anthropology is a four-field text integrating diverse voices, engaging field activities, and meaningful themes like Indigenous experiences and social inequality to engage students and enrich learning. "

This book presents standard intermediate microeconomics material and some material that, in the authors' view, ought to be standard but is not. Introductory economics material is integrated. Standard mathematical tools, including calculus, are used throughout.

No matter your field, having professional communication skills is essential to success in today's workplace. This book covers key business communications topics that will help you in your career, including intercultural communication, team work, professional writing, audience analysis and adapting messages, document formatting, oral communication, and more.

This textbook represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 101 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses. This book can be modified: feel free to rearrange or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.

MC Elementary Spanish I is an adaptation of Waymaker Spanish 1 and 2 designed and developed by the Spanish department at SUNY Oneonta in cooperation with Lumen Learning; the original work is licensed under a CC BY: Attribution. Through a partnership between the World Languages discipline and the Office of E-Learning, Innovation, and Teaching Excellence, Montgomery College has adapted the original content in order to build upon it, tailor it to its curricular needs, and share it in this current format. Adoption and adaptations made by Christine Crefton, Paul Miller, and MC World Languages faculty.

"Literature, the Humanities, and Humanity attempts to make the study of literature more than simply another school subject that students have to take. At a time when all subjects seem to be valued only for their testability, this book tries to show the value of reading and studying literature, even earlier literature. It shows students, some of whom will themselves become teachers, that literature actually has something to say to them. Furthermore, it shows that literature is meant to be enjoyed, that, as the Roman poet Horace (and his Renaissance disciple Sir Philip Sidney) said, the functions of literature are to teach and to delight. "

"A free, Open Educational Resource, Modern Blueprint for College and Career Success is a post pandemic, students' guide for classroom and career success. Covering student success strategies, self-management, career development, health and wellness, self and cultural awareness, social development, and financial literacy, Modern Blueprint includes relevant content for students attending college with an equity perspective."

"An exposition of the philosophy, principles, and materials of music from the Baroque Period to contemporary period with illustrative examples from the Baroque Period, Classical Period, Romantic Period, Contemporary Classical Music and Popular Music."

"The text is organized around anthropological concepts such as language, kinship, marriage and family life, political and economic organization, food getting, spiritual and religious practices, and the arts. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. "

"Open Music Theory is an open-source, interactive, online “text”book for college-level music theory courses. "

"Are you interested in the topic of people learning and development or are tasked to implement learning and training opportunities in your workplace? We invite you to use this resource full of information and tools to help support people and organizations in their learning journey."

"The main purpose of this book is to explain certain physical considerations useful not only to a beginner learning how to play a musical instrument, but also to an accomplished musician trying to gain full technical mastery of an instrument."

Principles of Macroeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Principles of Microeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory microeconomics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts. The second edition has been thoroughly revised to increase clarity, update data and current event impacts, and incorporate the feedback from many reviewers and adopters.

Psychology 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. The book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

This third American edition is a comprehensive textbook for research methods classes. It is an adaptation of the second American edition.

Student Engagement Activities for Business Communications is a compilation resource for instructors of workplace writing and oral presentations. The activities in this book can add value and energy to the classroom by engaging students in activities that support their learning. Handouts, links, activity variations, and debrief questions are included.

This open textbook is designed to introduce readers to the basics of technical communication: audience and task analysis in workplace contexts, clear and concise communications style, effective document design, teamwork and collaboration, and fundamental research skills. This text includes over 40 interactive H5P activities created by Deb Nielsen.

Explores the history and impact of the “Cli-Fi Film,” or Climate Fiction Film, a sub-genre of narrative cinema that depicts, on some level, the effects of climate change on the Earth and its inhabitants.

Trayectos is an open educational resource (OER) for novice learners of Spanish developed by Dr. Gabriela Zapata (University of Nottingham, UK) and a team of graduate and undergraduate students from Texas A&M, at UT-Austin.

Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication, will support an engaging and interesting course experience for students that will not only show them the powerful social, political and economic forces will affect the future of media technology, but will challenge students to do their part in shaping that future.

This text gives an overview of development, beginning in the mother’s womb through about the age of eight. It starts with a look at perspectives of early childhood, including how children have been viewed historically as well as cross-culturally. Following this chapter, there is a complete overview of the important theorists that have helped to deepen and bring clarity to how children develop.

"World Regional Geography: People, Places and Globalization is designed for students to experience and study as much of the world as possible within a limited amount of time. It gives students the fundamental concepts and the latest data regarding world places in a concise, easy-to-read format."

This textbook focuses on writing and digital media. Increasingly, writing is published on digital platforms like social media, websites, and blogs, and this online writing performs a variety of personal, professional, academic, and civic functions. The textbook discusses these functions from a critical and rhetorical perspective and provides practical skills and strategies that students can put into practice in their own digital writing.

Writing Guide with Handbook aligns to the goals, topics, and objectives of many first-year writing and composition courses. It is organized according to relevant genres, and focuses on the writing process, effective writing practices or strategies—including graphic organizers, writing frames, and word banks to support visual learning—and conventions of usage and style. The text includes an editing and documentation handbook, which provides information on grammar and mechanics, common usage errors, and citation styles.

Zombie Apocalypse: Holy Land, Haiti, Hollywood explores the intellectual and cultural histories of two highly influential and essentially religious ideas, that of the zombie and that of the apocalypse. The former is a modern idea rooted in Haitian Vodou and its popular African and European religious antecedents, while the latter is an ancient one rooted in Zoroastrianism and the Bible and widely expanded in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, and is arguably one of the most influential ideas in world history. Today the merger of the zombie and the apocalypse has pervaded popular culture, with the zombie surpassing the vampire and Frankenstein as the most prolific monster in popular American consciousness.

Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.

"English Composition I covers all of the essential content about the writing process, rhetorical styles, and writing successfully for college."

"This course studies world regions by comparing their physical and cultural landscapes. "

Select the Geography topic under the Society, Politics & Law subject to retrieve seven courses including "Why maps are made," "Who are Europeans?", and Who counts as a refugee?"

"Real World Math is a collection of free math activities for Google Earth designed for students and educators. Mathematics is much more than a set of problems in a textbook. In the virtual world of Google Earth, concepts and challenges can be presented in a meaningful way that portray the usefulness of the ideas."

"A free AP world-history curriculum precisely aligned to the AP® World History: Modern exam. Free, open, and approved to submit for the AP course audit." Need to register