LibGuides: PHS 109 (General Oceanography): Underrepresented Scientists

Resources for Identifying a scientist

From the library's reference collections:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference books, like encyclopedias and dictionaries, on a variety of topics

Credo Reference is a great place for finding scholarly reference sources like encyclopedias. These types of sources can provide you with background information on a topic, like important names within a field, and can help you discover additional research sources. Try simple searches in Credo for words like "minority" and "scientists."

Below are a few selected articles from Credo:

Originals!: Black Women Breaking Barriers
Article, "Science and medicine" from the encyclopedia Originals!: Black Women Breaking Barriers
Latino Almanac: From Early Explorers to Corporate Leaders
Article, "Prominent Latinos in Science, Technology, and Medicine" from Latino Almanac: From Early Explorers to Corporate Leaders
Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century
Article, "American Indians and Science" in Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century
A to Z of Women: Women in Science and Math
Encyclopedia
Black Firsts: 500 Years of Trailblazing Achievements and Ground-Breaking Events: Science and Medicine
Encyclopedia

From the Internet:

Science History Institute: Scientist Bios
Short bios for people behind some of the most significant achievements and discoveries in the history of chemistry, chemical engineering, and the life sciences.
Association for Women in Science
Short biographies of pioneering women In science
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Timeline highlighting important achievements in the life sciences made by black scientists
BBC: Science Focus
Introduction to 22 pioneering women in science history
Science History Institute
Collection of oral histories with scientists with disabilities

Digging Deeper in Library Databases

Discover additional information about your scientist in these library databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on all topics from journals, magazines, and newspapers
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles on all topics from journals, magazines, and newspapers, plus audio and video files
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Entries from reference books, like encyclopedias and dictionaries, with images, animations, and videos
EBSCO eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
eBooks on a broad variety of topics
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
eBooks on a broad variety of topics

And within the Library's Research Guide to STEM:

Research Guide to Stem: Science, Technology, Engineering & Math

PHS 109 (General Oceanography)

Email your question:

Side-nav stylesheet