Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Architecture: Web Sources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching architects and architecture

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Websites

These are open-access websites:

American Institute of Architects
The leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners

archINFORM
The largest online-database about worldwide architects and buildings from past to present

Architect Magazine
Web edition of Architect Magazine, with industry news, blogs, and more

Architecture Lab
Magazine dedicated to everything related to architecture, urban design, research studies, and sustainable design

ArchitectureWeek
Provides news and features weekly on architecture and construction, digital media, and building culture

Cityscape: A Journal of Policy Development and Research
High-quality original research on housing and community development issues for scholars, government officials, and practitioners

Dezeen Magazine
Online architecture and design magazine

A Digital Archive of American Architecture
Surveys the development of architecture in America from the 17th century to the present

Library of Congress Digital Collections: Art & Architecture
Photograph collections made available by the Library of Congress

Metropolis
Examines contemporary life through design—architecture, interior design, product design, graphic design, crafts, planning, and preservation

Visual Dictionary Online: Architecture
Huge image database from Merriam-Webster

TED Talk

Thom Mayne: Architecture is a new way to connect to the world

Architect Thom Mayne has never been one to take the easy option, and this whistle-stop tour of the buildings he's created makes you glad for it. These are big ideas cast in material form (20:40). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography