LibGuides: The Tempest (1611): Research the Text

Search for criticism & more

Subject databases

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes literary criticism, work overviews, author biographies, and more
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals from a wide range of disciplines, including literature
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks from a wide range of disciplines, including literature
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Reference books, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, with literary criticism, work overviews, and biographical information on authors
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Includes critical literature and reference materials.

Multidisciplinary databases

These large databases contain resources from all subject areas.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window

Explore more

All library databases, A-Z
Browse other databases for more resources.

Find literary criticism in books

In the field of literature in particular, books can be the best sources of secondary research sources. These include anthologies, or collections of essays or chapters on a theme, author, or literary work. An anthology may include several sources by different authors.

Search the catalog for more
Example search: tempest shakespeare
* Also try a subject search for Shakespeare – many works about the writer and his works will include essays or chapters about The Tempest.

In e-book databases, searches will include all the text in each book, so more specific keywords may be successful.