Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library building is now open! View the latest information

The Tempest (1611): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Shakespeare's The Tempest

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Read or Search Shakespeare's The TempestĀ Online

Full text of Shakespeare's The Tempest is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching OthelloIf not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Experience This Play Performed

If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access multimedia resources.

This performance of William Shakespeare's The Tempest was produced by the Royal Shakespeare Company for the series Live from Stratford-upon-Avon.

Other Books & Audiovisual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Tempest.

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Shakespeare, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Tempest and William Shakespeare. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World
  • British Writers, vols. 1, 2, 3, 5
  • The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Contemporary Dramatists
  • The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama, vols. 1, 2
  • A Companion to Shakespeare
  • Critical Survey of Drama, vol. 7
  • Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays
  • The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century, vol. 1
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, vol. 4
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places, vol. 3
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors, vol. 3
  • The Definitive Shakespeare Companion: Overviews, Documents, and Analysis, vol. 4
  • Essential Shakespeare Handbook
  • The Facts on File Companion to Shakespeare, vol. 5
  • The Friendly Shakespeare: A Thoroughly Painless Guide to the Best of the Bard
  • The Library of Literary Criticism, vol. 1
  • Literature and Its Times, vol. 1
  • Masterplots, vol. 11
  • McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama, vol. 4
  • The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare 
  • Shakespeare After All
  • Shakespeare A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Plays, His Poems, His Life and Times and More
  • Shakespeare's Characters for Students
  • Shakespeare the Playwright: A Companion to the Complete Tragedies, Histories, Comedies and Romances
  • Shakesqueer: A Queer Companion to the Complete Works of Shakespeare
  • A Theatergoer's Guide to Shakespeare
  • Understanding The Tempest: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
  • William Shakespeare: His World, His Work, His Influence

Research Guide to Theater

Want more information about various productions and critical reception of this play?

Visit our Research Guide to Theater Arts

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography