View current library hours and information

Hamilton: An American Musical (2015): ENG 101

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton: An American Musical

Accessing these resources

To access online library resources when off campus, you'll need to log in with your MyAACC username and password or a Truxal Library card number.

Recommended secondary sources for ENG 101 students

Overviews

Brown, Matthew. “Hamilton on Broadway and the Founding in American Culture: An Introduction.” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 485–87. Academic Search Premier, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733247&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Garrett, Charles Hiroshi. "Hamilton Forum: Guest Editor's Introduction." American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 407–11. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0407.

Kelly, Catherine E. "Introduction: Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton: An American Musical and the Early American Republic." Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 251–53. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0020.

Romano, Renee Christine, and Claire Bond Potter. “Introduction: History is Happening in Manhattan.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 1–14. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_1.

Music and dance in Hamilton

Gentry, Philip. Hamilton's Ghosts.” American Music, vol. 35, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 271–80. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.35.2.0271.

Kajikawa, Loren. “‘Young, Scrappy, and Hungry’: Hamilton, Hip Hop, and Race.” American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 467–86. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0467.

McAllister, Marvin. “Toward a More Perfect Hamilton.” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 279–88. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0024.

Searcy, Anne. “Bringing Dance Back to the Center in Hamilton.” American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 448–66. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0448.

Williams, Justin A. “‘We Get the Job Done’: Immigrant Discourse and Mixtape Authenticity in The Hamilton Mixtape.” American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 487–506. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0487.

Hamilton and other musicals

Harbert, Elissa. Hamilton and History Musicals.” American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 412–28. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0412.

Herrera, Brian Eugenio. “Looking at Hamilton from Inside the Broadway Bubble.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 222–45. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_222.

Hogelan, William. “From Ron Chernow’s Alexander Hamilton to Hamilton: An American Musical.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 17–41. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_17.

Searcy, Anne. “Bringing Dance Back to the Center in Hamilton.” American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 448–66. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0448.

Schocket, Andrew M. Hamilton and the American Revolution on State and Screen.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 167–86. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_167.

Hamilton's reception

Binelli, Mark. “Hamilton Mania.” Rolling Stone, no. 1263, June 2016, pp. 36–43. Academic Search Premier, login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=115836783&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Craft, Elizabeth Titrington. "Headfirst into an Abyss: The Politics and Political Reception of Hamilton." American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 429–47. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0429.

Potter, Claire Bond. “Safe in the Nation We’ve Made: Staging Hamilton on Social Media.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 324–50. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_324.

Romano, Renee C. Hamilton: A New American Myth.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 297–323. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_297.

Smith, Billy G. “Alexander Hamilton: The Wrong Hero for Our Age.” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 519–22. Academic Search Premier, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733251&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Stoller, Matt. “The Hamilton Hustle: Why Liberals Have Embraced Our Most Dangerously Reactionary Founder.” The Baffler, no. 34, spring 2017, pp. 34–43. JSTOR, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/44466488.

Alternative format available: HTML version of Stoller's The Hamilton Hustle from The Baffler website (via Internet Archive).

Wollman, Elizabeth L. “From The Black Crook to Hamilton: A Brief History of Hot Tickets on Broadway.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 187–221. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_187.

Identity and representation in Hamilton

Allgor, Catherine. “‘Remember I’m Your Man’: Masculinity, Marriage, and Gender in Hamilton.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 94–115. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_94.

Herrera, Patricia. “Reckoning with America’s Racial Past, Present, and Future in Hamilton.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 260–76. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_260.

Kajikawa, Loren. “‘Young, Scrappy, and Hungry’: Hamilton, Hip Hop, and Race.” American Music, vol. 36, no. 4, winter 2018, pp. 467–86. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.5406/americanmusic.36.4.0467.

McAllister, Marvin. “Toward a More Perfect Hamilton.” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 279–88. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0024.

Monteiro, Lyra D., et al. “Race-Conscious Casting and the Erasure of the Black Past in Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Hamilton.” The Public Historian, vol. 38, no. 1, Feb. 2016, pp. 89–98. JSTOR, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/26420757.

Nathans, Heather S. “Crooked Histories: Re-presenting Race, Slavery, and Alexander Hamilton Onstage.” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 271–78. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0022.

Hamilton and American finance

O’Malley, Michael O. “The Ten-Dollar Founding: Hamilton, Money, and Federalism.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 119–36. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_119.

Stringham, Edward Peter. “Hamilton's Legacy and the Great Man Theory of Financial History.” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 523–33. Academic Search Premier, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733252&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Wright, Robert E. “The Musical Hamilton from the Perspective of Financial History, in Verse.” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 535–44. Academic Search Premier, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733253&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Hamilton and history

Adelman, Joseph M. “Who Tells Your Story?: Hamilton as a People’s History.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 277–96. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_277.

Brown, Matthew. “A Founding, If You Can Keep It.” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 489–96. Academic Search Premier, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733248&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Carp, Benjamin L. “World Wide Enough: Historiography, Imagination, and Stagecraft.” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 289–94. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0028.

Harris, Leslie M. “The Greatest City in the World?: Slavery in New York in the Age of Hamilton.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 71–93. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_71.

Freeman, Joanne B. “Will the Real Alexander Hamilton Please Stand Up?” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 255–62. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0021.

Freeman, Joanne B. “Can We Get Back to Politics? Please?: Hamilton’s Missing Politics in Hamilton.” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 42–57. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_42.

Isenberg, Nancy. “‘Make 'em Laugh’: Why History Cannot Be Reduced to Song and Dance.” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 295–303. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0018.

Magness, Phillip W. “Alexander Hamilton as Immigrant: Musical Mythology Meets Federalist Reality.” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 497–508. Academic Search Premier, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733249&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Manseau, Peter. “Father Worship: Hamilton's ‘New World Scripture.’” The Baffler, no. 32, 2016, pp. 15–19., https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/43959271.

Alternative format available: HTML version of Manseau's Father Worship from The Baffler website (via Internet Archive).

Nathans, Heather S. “Crooked Histories: Re-presenting Race, Slavery, and Alexander Hamilton Onstage.” Journal of the Early Republic, vol. 37, no. 2, summer 2017, pp. 271–78. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0022.

Nereson, Ariel. Hamilton’s America: An Unfinished Symphony with a Stutter (Beat).” American Quarterly, vol. 68, no. 4, Dec. 2016, pp. 1045–59. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/aq.2016.0080.

Owen, Kenneth. “Can Great Art Also Be Great History?” The Independent Review, vol. 21, no. 4, spring 2017, pp. 509–17. Academic Search Premier, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,uid,url&db=aph&AN=121733250&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Schocket, Andrew M. “The American Revolution Rebooted: Hamilton and Genre in Contemporary Culture.” Journal of the Early Republic, summer 2017, vol. 37, no. 2, pp. 263–69. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.1353/jer.2017.0023.

Styrt, Philip Goldfarb. “Toward a Historicism of Setting: Hamilton and American History.” Modern Drama, vol. 61, no. 1, spring 2018, pp. 1–18. Project MUSE, https://doi.org/10.3138/md.0902.

Waldstreicher, David, and Jeffrey L. Pasley. Hamilton as Founders Chic: A New-Federalist, Antislavery Usable Past?” Historians on Hamilton: How a Blockbuster Musical Is Restaging America’s Past, edited by Renee Christine Romano and Claire Bond Potter, Rutgers UP, 2018, pp. 137–66. EBSCO eBook Collection, https://login.ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1602711&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_137.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography