Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

AACC Archives & Special Collections: FAQ

Finding aid for college archival documents, realia and special collections housed in Truxal Library.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who can use the AACC Archives and Special Collections?

A. AACC Archives & Special Collections materials are open for research by the administration, staff, faculty, and students of the college as well as to interested members of the community.

 

Q. What hours are the Archives and Special Collections open?

A. AACC Archives & Special Collections is open by appointment 8:00 am - noon, Monday-Friday, and is located in Truxal Library, Room 236 at Anne Arundel Community College, 101 College Parkway, Arnold, MD, 21012. 

 

Q. I'm retiring from the College and would like to donate my papers, files, books, etc.  How do I go about it?

A. Donations to the Archives are evaluated in accordance with the Library's Collection Development policy. http://www.aacc.edu/library/file/CollDevPolicy.pdf

The library accepts gifts to the Archives with the understanding that the materials will be evaluated according to the same standards as items that the library purchases. Gifts that are not suited to the archival collection, because of age, format, topic,
physical condition, or other factors will be disposed of according to College policies for surplus items. The library acknowledges all gifts; however, no monetary evaluation can be done, pursuant to Internal Revenue Service regulations. The library reserves the right to refuse a donation if the donor specifies special conditions, including retrieval from a donor's home, or special shelving requirements. Monetary donations are handled through the Anne Arundel Community College Foundation.

 

Q. May I bring a class of students to use the AACC Archives and Special Collections?

A. The Archives and Special Collections are available for use by appointment only.  Special arrangements can be made for faculty who wish to use specific primary source materials for instructional purposes.  Faculty should consult with the Library Director while planning any assignment that involves the use of archival collections.

Q. How do I schedule an appointment to use the collections?

A. Contact Library Director Cindy Steinhoff at cksteinhoff@aacc.edu or 410-777-2483, or Program Assistant Casey Wade at cmwade3@aacc.edu or 410-777-2257 to schedule an appointment to use the collections.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography