Skip to main content
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

AACC Archives & Special Collections: Home

Finding aid for college archival documents, realia and special collections housed in Truxal Library.

Mission and Scope

The AACC Archives & Special Collections is the official repository for permanent retention of materials related to the history of Anne Arundel Community College.  Its collections are a  guide to the college’s past. The AACC Archives & Special Collections identifies, collects, and preserves materials that document the history, organization, policies, operations, mission and goals of the college. The AACC Archives & Special Collections ensures that college records with historical or enduring value are available for research and reference. 

The AACC Archives & Special Collections does not have responsibility for college records management.  Records management is handled by the Business Office. See xxxx.

Overview

The AACC Archives and Special Collections collects and preserves selected documents and materials of historical value to the College's development.

AACC Publications: Publications by and about AACC students and faculty, including student newspapers, yearbooks, commencement programs, dissertations, books written by faculty, etc.

College Development: Capital projects, blue prints, building plans, LEEDS documentation, campus photographs, etc.

College Leadership: AACC Presidents and administrators, their papers, awards, photographs, biographical information, organizational charts, etc.

Governing Documents: Board of Trustees minutes, accreditation review documents, etc.

Special Initiatives: Student Success 2020, etc.

Research & Use

AACC Archives & Special Collections materials are open for research by the administration, staff, faculty, and students of the college as well as to interested members of the community. The Archives provides access to the materials and assistance in identifying and using appropriate materials.

Researchers may stop at the Library Administration Office on the second floor of Truxal Library any time during regular hours, Monday-Friday, or reference requests may be made by telephone or email. The Archives & Special Collections will furnish copies of documents and photographs at a nominal cost.

Archival & Special Collections materials do not circulate and must be used in the Archives office under supervised conditions. Reference procedures are designed to ensure the preservation of the records for future researchers.

Featured Publication

Author: Likins, Jeanne Marie, 1953-
Title: A stepping stone : the history of Anne Arundel Community College, augmented with appendices drawn from College files / Jeanne Marie Likins.
Published: [Arnold, MD] : Anne Arundel Community College, c1981.
Material: xii, 321 p. : ports. ; 29 cm.
Notes: Bibliography: p. 315-321.
ISBN: 0960830006
Subjects:
  1. Anne Arundel Community College--History.

Location & Hours

AACC Archives & Special Collections is open by appointment 8:00 am - noon, Monday-Friday, and is located in Truxal Library, Room 236 at Anne Arundel Community College, 101 College Parkway, Arnold, MD, 21012. 

 

Contact Library Director Cindy Steinhoff at cksteinhoff@aacc.edu or 410-777-2483, or Program Assistant Casey Wade at cmwade3@aacc.edu or 410-777-2257 to schedule an appointment to use the collections.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography