Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Sustainability: Sustainable Living

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching sustainability topics

Defining Sustainability

"Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. "

-United Nations, Report of the World Commission on Environment and Development: Our Common Future, 1987

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Websites

Comprehensive Resources

The Daily Green: The Consumer's Guide to the Green Revolution
Includes news items, a dictionary of environmentalist terms, articles, and tips on greening a home and one's diet

Greener Choices: Products for a Better Planet
Information from Consumer Reports on choices that support sustainability

Planet Green
A global initiative from Discovery Channel, including a television network, interactive tools, and "how-to" resources

Simple Ways YOU Can Help the Bay
Tips from Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay

Public Transportation

Anne Arundel County Rail and Bus Transit Routes
From the Anne Arundel County Citizens Information Center

Maryland Transit Authority
Schedules, maps, fares, and trip planners using Maryland bus, light rail, Metro, and MARC trains

Public Transportation Takes Us There
Nationwide directory of local public transit systems

Energy Reduction

Energy Savers
Energy efficiency tips, information about ENERGY STAR rated appliances, and energy use calculators from the U.S. Department of Energy

FuelEconomy.gov 
Tips for driving to conserve fuel, information about hybrid and alternative fuel vehicles, links to EPA vehicle mile-per-gallon ratings, and more

Savings Start @ Home: The Inside Story on Conserving Energy
Guide from the Federal Trade Commission provides energy-saving tips for all areas of your home

Sustainable Food & Drink

Eco-Labels Center 
Database from Consumer Reports of information about green labels found on a wide variety of foods and household products

Local Harvest 
National directory of farmers markets, community supported agriculture programs, food cooperatives, and other direct marketing programs

Maryland’s Best 
Information to locate sources of Maryland-grown produce, meats, dairy, and more; includes listing of Maryland Farmer's Markets and information about when different fruits and vegetables are in season in Maryland

Pick Your Own 
National directory of pick-your-own fruit and vegetable farms

Sustainable Table
Educates consumers on food-related sustainability issues and works to build community through food

Reusing and Recycling

Creative Reuse 
Ideas for converting everyday items into art projects or objects to use around the house from The RecycleWorks program of San Mateo County, CA

Earth911 
Search by zip code for local recycling and waste disposal assistance

Recycling in Maryland
From the Maryland Department of the Environment, includes a Recycling Market Directory, which lists Maryland organizations that take donations of items for reuse (clothing, electronics, furniture, etc.)

Recycle More Often
Information about Anne Arundel County's recycling programs

Sustainable Shopping

Eco-Labels Center 
Database from Consumer Reports of information about green labels found on a wide variety of foods and household products

National Green Pages
Directory of screened and approved green business from Green America (formerly Co-op America)

Non-Toxic Home Cleaning
Information about greener cleaning products and homemade substitutions

TED Talk

Mark Bittman: What's wrong with what we eat

In this fiery and funny talk, New York Times food writer Mark Bittman weighs in on what's wrong with the way we eat now (too much meat, too few plants; too much fast food, too little home cooking), and why it's putting the entire planet at risk (20:05). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography