Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Music: Web Sources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching music topics

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Websites

These are open-access websites:

American Memory: Performing Arts, Music
Digitized multimedia resources from the Library of Congress: historical sound recordings, sheet music, images, and more

Instrument Encyclopedia
Database featuring images and sound files of world instruments from the University of Michigan's Sterns Collection

The Met: Musical Instruments
More than 5,000 images from The Metropolitan Museum of Art of musical instruments and artwork containing musical instruments 

Music Theory Online: A Journal of Criticism, Commentary, Research, and Scholarship
Peer-reviewed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, Inc.

National Jukebox
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress and other libraries

National Museum of American History: Music and Musical Instruments
The Museum's music collections contain more than 5,000 instruments of American and European heritage

New York Public Library Digital Collections: Music Division
One of the world's preeminent music collections, documenting the art of music in all its diversity

Petrucci Music Library
Virtual library containing public domain music scores and/or sheet music, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music without charge

Yale Collection of Musical Instruments
A division of the Yale School of Music

TED Talk

Benjamin Zander on music and passion

Benjamin Zander has two infectious passions: classical music, and helping us all realize our untapped love for it and by extension, our untapped love for all new possibilities, new experiences, new connections (20:43). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography