Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Dance: Web Sources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching dance, dancers, and choreographers

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Websites

These are open access-websites:

American Ballet Theatre: Learn
Includes a Ballet Dictionary and a Repertory Archive

Dance Heritage Coalition
National alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance

Dance in Photographs and Prints
Digitized images from the New York Public Library's collection

Dance Magazine
Archives and web exclusives

The Early Moderns
A historical journey through the early years of modern dancing in the United States

Library of Congress Digital Collections: Dance
Collections of images focusing on dancers and choreographers like Martha Graham, Katherine Dunham, and Bronislava Nijinska, as well as An American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction Manuals ca. 1490 – 1920, a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals

New York Times: Dance
Useful news, archival information, photos, graphics, audio, and video on dance topics published in The New York Times

PBS Arts: Dance
PBS Arts programs featuring dance

TED Talk

Pilobolus: A performance merging dance and biology

Two Pilobolus dancers perform "Symbiosis." Does it trace the birth of a relationship? Or the co-evolution of symbiotic species? Music: "God Music," George Crumb; "Fratres," Arvo Part; "Morango…Almost a Tango," Thomas Oboe Lee (13:45). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Multi-Media Spotlight: Dance

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography