To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.
Try synonyms and related terms:
urban OR hip-hop
square dance OR country dance
en pointe OR point work
From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:
To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:
The library circulates several hundred books on dance, dancers, and choreographers. These are some general works:
Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources.
Academic Video Online
Includes Dance in Video, hundreds of hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century, plus more
Oxford Music Online
Music reference books and multimedia resources that often describe aspects of dance and dance culture
Academic Search Premier
Articles from periodicals like Dance Magazine, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Dance Spirit, Dance Research Journal, Dance Chronicle, and more
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections
Full text of older issues of journals like Dance Chronicle, Dance Research Journal, Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research, and more
Current full text of scholarly journals like Dance Research Journal and PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
National Newspapers & The Sun
Current and historical issues of the The New York Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, and more
Scholarly and popular sports periodicals, including Human Movement and Journal of Dance Education
eBooks, including a number on dance and choreography
EBSCO eBook Collection
eBooks, including many titles on dance and choreography
Daily Life through History
Historical information about dance in different cultures
Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:
The library’s collection also contains instructional videos and DVDs for ballet, jazz, breakdancing, and more. Additionally, the library has performances of ballets, like Swan Lake, La Sylphide, Romeo & Juliet, The Nutcracker, Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme, and The Sleeping Beauty, among others.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.
You might find the following eBooks useful when starting research on ballet history. You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography