Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Criminal Justice & Homeland Security: Web Sources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching criminal justice and homeland security

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Websites

These are open-access websites:

Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
A non-profit that aims to reduce society's reliance on the use of incarceration

Congressional Research Service Reports
Non-partisan, in-depth legislative research

Federal Bureau of Prisons
Includes research and reports

International Centre for Criminal Law Reform and Criminal Justice Policy
Advice, information, research, and proposals for policy development and legislation

Justice Policy Institute
Ongoing publication of timely, accessible research on criminal and juvenile justice reform

Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services
For citizens, law enforcement, and community partners

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Access to criminal justice data collections

The Sentencing Project
Information about crime, sentencing, criminal justice policy, incarceration alternatives, reform, and  more

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States

U.S. Central Intelligence Agency
Includes World Factbook, press releases, Center for the Study of Intelligence, and more

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Includes research through Centers for Excellence and a global terrorism database

U.S. Department of Justice
Includes the Bureau of Justice Statistics, National Institute of Corrections, FBI, DEA, and more

U.S. Department of State
Information about arms control and international security, also civilian security and democracy

World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network
Includes statistical resources and annotated links

YaleGlobal Online: Security and Terrorism
A publication of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies at Yale University

TED Talk

Philip Zimbardo: The Psychology of Evil

Philip Zimbardo knows how easy it is for nice people to turn bad. In this talk, he shares insights and graphic unseen photos from the Abu Ghraib trials. Then he talks about the flip side: how easy it is to be a hero, and how we can rise to the challenge (23:16). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography