Skip to main content

Research Guide to Music: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching music topics

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.*

Try synonyms and related terms:

rap   OR   hip-hop
choir   OR   chorus

symphony   OR   orchestra
stage band   OR   big band

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building 
  • the item's Call Number 
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

*Students may borrow CD’s and audiocassettes and return them at a later date.  Students may borrow videos and DVD’s but must view these materials in the library.  Ask for audio materials and DVD’s at the Circulation Desk.  Find videos on the video shelves near the Circulation Desk.

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Music Online
Includes a huge collection of reference information, scores, and streaming audio and video from multiple music databases, including African American Music Reference, African American Song, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Dance in Video, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound, which includes Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio and more from labels like BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, and more

Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and more; both audio and notated examples

Academic Video Online
Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries about music and music culture

Academic OneFile
Articles from periodicals like Billboard, Current Musicology, Folk Music Journal, Popular Music & Society, and much more

Academic Search Premier
Articles from periodicals like General Music Today, Music Analysis, Musical Times, Popular Music History, Opera News, and much more

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections
Articles from periodicals like American Music, Ethnomusicology, Journal of Musicology, and much, much more

Project MUSE
Articles from scholarly journals like Early Music, Music & Letters, Leonardo Music Journal, Notes, The Opera Quarterly, and much more

Historical Newspapers
Articles from the archives of the
New York Times (from 1851), Washington Post (from 1877), and Baltimore Sun (from 1837)
 

Credo Reference
Reference books like New Penguin Dictionary of Music, The Faber Companion to 20th-Century Popular Music, Harvard Dictionary of Music, and more

Daily Life through History
Includes information about world music, musicians, and song throughout the ages

Ebook Central
Over 20,000 electronic books covering many subjects, including a number of titles related to music and song

EBSCO eBook Collection
Nearly 50,000 electronic books, covering all academic disciplines

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes books like The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History, and Woodstock: An Encyclopedia of the Music and Art Fair

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography