Cat's Cradle (1963): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Kurt Vonnegut's Cat's Cradle.  These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
• American Writers [supl 2, part 2; vol 11]
• Classic Cult Fiction: A Companion to Popular Cult Literature
• Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vols 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 12, 22, 40, 60, 111, 212, 254] - look for Cat's Cradle in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
  • [vol 196] - locate the topical essay "Contemporary Black Humor"
    
• Critical Companion to Kurt Vonnegut: A Literary Reference to His Life and Work
  
• Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 7]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
• Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 5]
• Kurt Vonnegut: A Critical Companion
  
• Masterplots II: American Fiction [vol 1]
• Modern American Literature [vols 4, 5, 6]
• Notable American Novelists [vol 3]
  
• Novels for Students [vol 28]
  
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism  (TCLC)- Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  
  • [vol 54] - locate the topical essay "American Black Humor Fiction"
  • [vol 66] - locate the topical essay "Disease and Literature"
  • [vol 98] - locate the topical essay "Violence and Literature"
  • [vol 186] - locate the topical essay "Cold War Literature"
  • [vol 210] - locate the topical essay "American Dream in Literature"
    
• The Vonnegut Encyclopedia: An Authorized Compendium

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

• Vonnegut, Kurt
  

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Kurt Vonnegut, as well criticism and interpretation of Vonnegut's work.

You might find the following eBook useful for researching Cat's Cradle. not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change periodically, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit:

Using a citation generator from a database or website? Double-check to be sure the generator has used the current rules.