Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Legal Resources: Web Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching legal information

Paralegal Websites

National Association of Legal Assistants (NALA) - This web site includes information about the paralegal career field, and about the programs and services of NALA.

National Federation of Paralegal Associations - Website for Paralegal career information and job services. Membership required. Provides references to legal research, like federal agencies and departments, international law, law schools and research centers, news sites.

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Maryland Legal Materials

Gateway to Maryland Law - Links to: Maryland Code (Statutory Law) and Court Rules, Maryland Case Law, Maryland Regulatory Law (COMAR), Maryland County & Municipal websites, Maryland law reviews and journals, and more

Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law - Links to the Maryland Constitution, statutes, pending bills, directories of the legislature and judiciary, appellate court decisions from 1994 to present, court rules, and the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR); access to materials for other states

Maryland General Assembly - Complete coverage of business in the Maryland General Assembly, like bill information and status, budget information, commissions, committee rosters, agendas, major issues, prior sessions, and more

Maryland Judiciary - Court opinions, court forms, and an overview of the Maryland court system; sections devoted to legal professionals and Maryland citizens

Maryland State Archives - Repository for records of Maryland state, county, and municipal government; provides access to The Maryland Manual, a guide to all facets of Maryland state government, updated daily; holds special collections of maps, newspapers, religious records, and private papers

Maryland State Law Library Research Tools - A variety of useful internet links, collection guides and bibliographies to assist you in finding information both in the physical library and on the web, developed by the State Law Library staff

Peoples Law Library of Maryland - Maryland-specific legal and self-help information; topics include Social Security, welfare, housing, prescription drugs, traffic, small claims, immigration, bankruptcy, identity theft, domestic violence, dispute resolution, senior citizen information, and much more

National Resources

Courtlistener -Search for and browse the latest court opinions, PACER documents, judges, and oral arguments; includes the biggest collection of oral argument audio on the Internet

FindLaw - Links to legal information about various consumer topics like personal injuries, dangerous products, divorce, traffic violations, DUI/DWI laws, employee rights, criminal law; links for legal professionals are designed to help with practice-specific legal information needs, case law, latest legal news, and analytical articles

Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law - Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Evidence, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. intellectual property statutes and cases, introduction to legal citation, Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1992 (with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historic importance), and the full United States Code

Law Library of Congress - Research services, resources and links

Nolo Law Guides - Links for businesses and human resources, wills and estate planning, credit and real estate, family law, immigration, rights and disputes, etc.

The OYEZ Project - Links to Docket Reports and U.S. Supreme Court Decisions; access to Supreme Court audio recorded since 1995 (selective before 1995)

The Public Library of Law - The largest free, online U.S. case law database

Congress.gov - Federal legislative information freely available to the public

Unites States Laws and Regulations – General reference resources from the U.S. government

Washburn University School of Law - Links to law-related materials: legislative information, statute search, executive information, attorney general, courts, court system, judicial branch, rules of court, state agencies, counties, historical documents, boards and commission; information arranged alphabetically by subject and by geographic location

TED Talk

Larry Lessig: How creativity is being strangled by the law

Larry Lessig, the Net’s most celebrated lawyer, cites John Philip Sousa, celestial copyrights and the "ASCAP cartel" in his argument for reviving our creative culture (18:56). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography