Research Guide to Gender & Sexuality Studies: Library Resources

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

gay   OR   homosexual
feminist   OR   feminism
oppressed  OR  disempowered

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

• the Location of the item in the Library Building 
• the item's Call Number 
• whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Academic OneFile
Journals include Journal of Research in Gender Studies, Journal of International Women's Studies, Journal of Men's Studies, Journal of Gender, Race and Justice, and much more

Academic Search Premier
Journals like Contemporary Sexuality, Sexuality and Culture, Gender Studies and Research, and much more

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Position papers, periodical articles, and more about controversial topics and current events, including those related to gender and sexuality

Project MUSE
Journals include Journal of the History of Sexuality, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies, Feminist Formations, and much more

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections
Older issues of journals like Journal of Sex Research, Gender and Society, Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society, and more

Ebook Central
Includes a large selection of eBooks on gender and sexuality

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes a large selection of titles on gender and sexuality

Credo Reference
Titles like Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures, The Lesbian and Gay Movements, Feminist Philosophies A-Z, and much more

​Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender, Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History, and more 

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection 
Reference titles like Same-Sex Marriage, Queer America: A GLBT History of the 20th Century, Women in Combat, and more

​Daily Life through History
Information about gender and sexuality in different cultures throughout history

Academic Video Online
Includes documentaries about gender and sexuality

NOT ENOUGH INFO?  Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic OneFile and Academic Search Premier

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

• Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World  (Ref) HQ1127 .S25 2001
• Gay and Lesbian Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook  (Ref)  HQ76.3.U5 S59 2002
• Gender, Sex, and Sexuality  (Ref) PN56 .S5 G56 2014
• Great Lives from History: American Women Series  (Ref) HQ1412 .G74 1995
• Handbook of American Women's History  (Ref) HQ1410 .H36 2000
• Handbook on Sexual Violence  (Ref) HV6556 .H38 2012
• Human Sexuality (Ref) PN43 .B54 H8 2009
• LGBTQ Literature (Ref) PR1111 .H57 L43 2015
• Men and Masculinities: A Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia  (Ref) HQ1090.3 .M436 2004
• New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Gender (Ref) F209 .N47 2006
• Out in All Directions: The Almanac of Gay and Lesbian America  (Ref) HQ75.6.U5 W57 1995
• The Oxford Encyclopdia of the Bible and Gender Studies  (Ref) BS680 .W7 O94 2014
• The Penguin Atlas of Women in the World   (Ref) G1046 .E1 S4 2009
• Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History  (Ref) HQ1410 .R43 1998
• Reader's Guide to Women's Studies  (Ref) HQ1180 .R43 1998
• Routledge History of Sex and the Body: 1500 to the Present  (Ref) HQ12 .R69 2013
• Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge  (Ref) HQ1115 .R69 2000
• Same-Sex Marriage  (Ref) HQ1033 .P47 2006
• Sex Equality  (Ref) KF4758 .A7 M33 2001
• Sexuality and the Law: An Encyclopedia of Major Legal Cases  (Ref) KF9325.A7 L46 1993
• The Sourcebook on Violence Against Women  (Ref) HV6250.4 .W65 S68 2001
• Susan B. Anthony Slept Here: A Guide to American Women's Landmarks (Ref) E159 .K39 1994
• Supreme Court Decisions and Women's Rights: Milestones to Equality  (Ref) KF4758 .A7 S87 2001
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Family and Personal Relationships  (Ref) HQ536 .T35 2010
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender  (Ref) HQ1075 .T33 2016
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Human Sexuality   (Ref) HQ18 .U5 T33 2017
• The Timetables of Women's History: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in Women's History  (Ref) HQ1121 .G74 1994
• Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives  (Ref) HV6250.4 .G57 V558 2013
• Violence Against Women in Families and Relationships  (Ref) HV6626 .V56 2009
• Women and Equality in the Workplace  (Ref) HD6095 .G48 2003
• Women and Health  (Ref) RA778 .W742 2013
• Women and the Law: Leaders, Cases, and Documents  (Ref) KF478 .K84 2003
• Women in Congress, 1917-2006  (Ref) JK1030 .W66 2006
• The Women's Liberation Movement in America  (Ref) HQ1421 .B47 1999
• Women's Rights: A Global View  (Ref) HQ1236 .W6527 2001
• Women's Roles in the Renaissance  (Ref) HQ1149 .E85 B76 2005

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching gender and sexuality topics.  You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access this resource from off-campus.