Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Culinary Arts & Food Science: Web Sources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching culinary arts and food science

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Websites

These are open-access websites:

FOOD HISTORY

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project
Online collection of the most important 19th and early 20th century American cookbooks, viewable as page images

Food Timeline and Culinary History Timeline
Timelines of foods and recipes throughout world history, as well as social history, manners, and historic menus

INGREDIENT REFERENCE & RECIPES

Epicurious
Thousands of recipes from Gourmet, Bon Appetit, Self, cookbooks, chefs, and home cooks; includes food and wine dictionaries

Food Network
Recipes, videos, healthy eating advice, party ideas and cooking techniques from top chefs, shows, and experts

James Beard Association
Allows foodies to keep up with the latest food trends and their favorite chefs across America

Spices: Exotic Flavors & Medicines
Exhibit that explores the many facets of spices from UCLA's Biomedical Library

StarChefs Magazine
Award-winning online magazine serving the foodservice industry and food aficionados

Visual Dictionary Online: Food & Kitchen
Huge image database from Merriam-Webster

Wine Enthusiast Magazine
One of the world’s most respected and quoted publications in the field of wine and spirits

NUTRITION & FOOD SAFETY

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
From the U.S. Food & Drug Administration

Food & Nutrition Information Center
Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel, and consumers

Food Allergy Research and Education
Nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing about a clearer understanding of the issues surrounding food allergies and providing helpful resources

U.S. Department of Agriculture - Food and Nutrition Information Center
Food nutrition and safety information, including nutrient profiles for thousands of foods and the FoodSafety Gateway

World Health Organization: Food Safety
The Department of Food Safety, Zoonoses and Foodborne Diseases (FOS) strives to reduce the serious negative impact of foodborne diseases worldwide

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

International Association of Culinary Professionals
Professional society of individuals employed in, or providing services to, the culinary industry

National Restaurant Association
Leading business association for the restaurant industry

Restaurant Association of Maryland
Searchable guide to restaurants and caterers in the state; includes recipes, menus, special offers, and dining news

TED Talk

Jennifer 8. Lee: Who was General Tso? and other mysteries of American Chinese food

Reporter Jennifer 8. Lee talks about her hunt for the origins of familiar Chinese-American dishes -- exploring the hidden spots where these two cultures have (so tastily) combined to form a new cuisine (16:38). 

For more information about this subject or this speaker, visit this talk at ted.org.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography