The Age of Innocence (1920): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Full text of Wharton's The Age of Innocence is available on the Web at:

• Project Gutenberg
• University of Virginia

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Age of Innocence. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
• American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present [vol 4]
• American Writers [vols 4; supl 4, part 1]
• Contemporary Authors [vol 132]
• Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 7]
• Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
• Edith Wharton and Kate Chopin: A Reference Guide
• Great Lives from History. American Women Series [vol 5]
• Literature and Its Times [supl 1, part 1]
• Masterplots [vol 1]
• Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series [vol 1]
• Modern American Literature [vols 3, 4, 5, 6]
• Modern American Women Writers
• Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vol 56] - locate the topical essay "The Novel of Manners"
• Notable American Novelists [vol 3]
• Novels for Students [vol 11]
• Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vols. 3, 9, 53, 129, 149] - check under Age of Innocence in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
  • [vol 90] - locate the topical essay "The City and Literature"
  • [vol 114] - locate the topical essay "Food and Literature"
  • [vol 129] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on Edith Wharton"
  • [vol 130] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on the American Novel of Manners"
  • [vol 183] - locate the topical essay "American Literary Naturalism"
  • [vol 198] - locate the topical essay "Romance Fiction in the Twentieth Century"
    
• Working Americans, 1880-1999

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

• Wharton, Edith
• Age of Innocence
  

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Edith Wharton, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching  The Age of Innocence.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change periodically, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit:

Using a citation generator from a database or website? Double-check to be sure the generator has used the current rules.