Truxal Library Exhibit: Hispanic Heritage Month 2024
Welcome to the Truxal Library guide in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month 2024! This guide highlights library resources that complement the 2024 theme, Pioneers of Change: Shaping the Future Together. If you are on campus, please visit the second floor of the library to see the accompanying exhibit! Please also visit this schedule of exciting events in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month at AACC.
WEBSITES OF INTEREST FOR LATINX/HISPANIC HERITAGE MONTH
- AACC Hispanic Heritage Month - Special EventsJoin the AACC community in celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month by taking part in special events such as an art exhibit by Glory Parades, specially created HCAT meals to go, and Afro-Cuban music and dance, and more!
- National Hispanic Heritage MonthNational Council of Hispanic Employment Program Managers (NCHEPM) is the organization that designated this year's theme. This website includes the official poster as well as history of the Hispanic Heritage observations in the United States.
- NPR Series: Hispanic Heritage Month"National Hispanic Heritage Month in the U.S. runs from Sept. 15 through Oct. 15. NPR celebrates these communities — with stories, podcasts and a Tiny Desk takeover, including "El Tiny" performances by Omar Apollo, Carla Morrison, Farruko, and other artists."
- National Museum of the American Latino"The museum’s Molina Family Latino Gallery, the Smithsonian’s first gallery solely dedicated to Latino contributions to America opened on June 18, 2022, at the National Museum of American History. "
- Key facts about U.S. Latinos for National Hispanic Heritage MonthPew Research Center presents "key facts about the U.S. Latino population by geography and by characteristics such as language use and origin group."
- National Park Service: Commemorations and Celebrations"More than 500 years of Hispanic and Latino history and heritage can be found in national parks or shared through National Park Service programs and partners in communities across the country."
Pascal Gallery Exhibition: Perspectivas Latinas
Sept. 15-Oct. 15 | Reception: Sept. 27, 6-7:30 P.M. Glory Paredes is a mixed media artist who was born in El Salvador and moved to Annapolis in 2004. She makes portraits using different media and techniques. Paredes also uses papier-mâché to make personalized piñatas and different characters. She loves to encourage new generations to practice art and culture. “Memories of Yesterday” was inspired by a collection of childhood memories and experiences of Salvadoran children who went through difficult times and are now adults. The majority of them had to work at an early age, taking care of their younger siblings, without the opportunity to attend school. They also walked barefoot and went hungry most days. For lack of work or money, they played rustic games and made their own toys. This reality still affects many Latino families in current times.
Reference Books for Background
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture –by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780684312705Publication Date: 2008-05-09Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Great Lives from History: Latinos –by Call Number: Reference vols. 1,2 & 3 E184 .S75 G75 2020 V.1ISBN: 9781642656817Publication Date: 2020-01-01Latin Americans -- Biography -- Encyclopedias.
Hispanic Americans -- Biography -- Encyclopedias.
Hispanic Americans.
Latin Americans.
Geographic Term: Latin America.
United States.
Genre: Biographies.
Hispanic Firsts: 500 Years of Extraordinary Achievement. –by Call Number: Reference E184.S75 K36 1997ISBN: 9780787605179Publication Date: 1997-05-01This collection of the most significant firsts achieved by Hispanics, from pre-Columbian times to the present, features more than 1500 instances ranging from science to education to sports and entertainment.
Latino Almanac –by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1578596114Publication Date: 2022-09-20From Columbus to Corporate America is a mix of biographies, historical facts, and essays on legislation, movements, current issues, and achievements across a variety of fields, including business, labor, politics, the military, music, sports, law, media, religion, art, literature, theater, film, science, technology, and medicine.
Voices of Multicultural America: Notable Speeches Delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995 –by Call Number: Reference PS663.M55 V64 1996ISBN: 9780810393783Publication Date: 1995-10-01The speechs of more than 130 prominent Americans are gathered in this compilation, representing the leaders and others from four major ethnic groups.
