Skip to main content

Research Guide to World Cultures: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching world cultures and geography topics

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

gay   OR   homosexual
feminist   OR   feminism
oppressed  OR  disempowered

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building 
  • the item's Call Number 
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Academic OneFile
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like Journal of Cultural Geography; Journal of Food, Culture and Society; Journal of Comparative Family Studies,  and much more

Academic Search Premier
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like Food & Foodways: History & Culture of Human Nourishment; Studies in Latin American Popular Culture;  Journal of African Cultural Studies, and much more

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection
Full text of older issues of periodicals like Cultural Anthropology, Cultural Critique, Geographical Review, Technology and Culture, and more

Project MUSE
Current full text of scholarly literary journals like Cultural Critique, Ethnohistory, Anthropological Quarterly, and more

Daily Life Through History
Information about cultures around the world, throughout the ages

National Newspapers &The Sun
Current and historical issues of the New York Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, Wall Street Journal, and more  

Academic Video Online
Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries about cultures around the world

Ebook Central
Over 20,000 electronic books covering many subjects, including a number of titles related to world cultures 

EBSCO eBook Collection
Nearly 50,000 electronic books, covering all academic disciplines

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Book titles like Foodways and Folklore: A Handbook; Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body, and more

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, Encyclopedia of Modern China, New Encyclopedia of Africa, Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, and much more

Credo Reference
Reference book titles like The CIA World Factbook; The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy; Nations and Cultures; Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary; and much more

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography