Fahrenheit 451 (1953): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Fahrenheit 451. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• American Writers [supp IV, part 1]
• B​loom's Literary Themes: Alienation
• Bloom's Literary Themes: Civil Disobedience
• A Companion to Science Fiction
• Contemporary Literary Criticism [vols. 10, 42, 98] - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals; look for Fahrenheit 451 in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
• Critical Insights: Dystopia 
• Critical Insights: Fahrenheit 451
• Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol. 1]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol. 2]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol. 1]
• Encyclopedia of Utopian Literature
• Literature and Its Times [vol. 5]
• Literature and Its Times [supp. 1, part 2]
• Masterplots [vol. 4]
• Notable American Novelists [vol. 1]
• Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes 
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals;
  • [vol. 186] - locate the topical essay "Cold War Literature"

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

• Fahrenheit 451
• Bradbury, Ray

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about BLANK, as well criticism and interpretation of his/her work.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Fahrenheit 451. To access these resources from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.