The Picture of Dorian Gray (1890): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Full text of Wilde's The Picture of Dorian Gray is available on the Web at:

• Project Gutenberg
• University of Virginia

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Picture of Dorian Gray. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• British Authors [vols 3, 5]
  
• Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 7]
• The Critical Temper [vols 3, 4]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [4]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places [2]
• Cyclopepdia of World Authors [5]
• Edwardian and Georgian Fiction
  
• Masterplots [vol 9]
• Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vol 32] - locate the topical essay "Supernatural Fiction in the Nineteenth Century"
  • [vol 40] - locate the topical essay "The Double in Nineteenth-Century Literature" 
  • [vol 56] - locate the topical essay "Homosexuality in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
  • [vol 68] - locate the topical essay "Victorian Hellenism"
  • [vol 180] - locate the topical essay "Homosexuality in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
  • [vol 192] - locate the topical essay "The Double in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
• Novels for Students [vol 20]
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vols 1, 8, 23, 41, 175] - look for Picture of Dorian Gray in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
• The Victorian Novel
  

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

• Wilde, Oscar (1854-1900)
  

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Oscar Wilde, as well criticism and interpretation of Wilde's works.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The Picture of Dorian Gray.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change periodically, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit:

Using a citation generator from a database or website? Double-check to be sure the generator has used the current rules.