Research Guide to STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math: Library Resources

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

math   OR   mathematics
automation   OR   mechanization
Darwinism   OR   natural selection

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

• the Location of the item in the Library Building 
• the item's Call Number 
• whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

The library has a collection of anatomical and chemistry models. Students with college ID cards or college library cards may check out these models at the circulation desk for use in the library. 

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

SciVerse ScienceDirect 
Leading full-text scientific database of peer-reviewed journals

Access Science
Science and technology reference and news

Academic OneFile
Articles from periodicals like Scientific American; Discover; Science, Technology, and Human Values; and much more

Academic Search Premier
Articles from periodicals like Technology Review, Science & Engineering Ethics, Science Now, and much more

Project MUSE
Articles from scholarly journals like Native Plants Journal, Technology & Culture, Ethics & the Environment, and more

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection
Articles from scholarly journals like Ecological Applications, Freshwater Science, Math Horizons, and more

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Periodical articles, reference materials, and audio/visual resources about controversial topics and current events related to STEM

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes thousands of titles related to STEM 

Ebook Central
Includes thousands of eBooks about STEM topics

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes a number of STEM titles  

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes reference books on STEM topics

Credo Reference
Includes dozens of STEM-focused reference books

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Contents of the most recent CRC Handbook

PubMed Central
Free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journals

Academic Video Online
Includes streaming video STEM topics

For more resources on health science and technology, visit our
Research Guide for Health and Wellness

For more resources on sustainability topics, visit our
Research Guide to Sustainability

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

• The A to Z of Mathematics: A Basic Guide
• A to Z of Women in Science and Math
• African American Firsts in Science and Technology
• African Americans in Science, Math, and Invention
• American Women in Technology: An Encyclopedia
• The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science
• Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering
• Black Women Scientists in the United States
• Celebrating Women in Mathematics and Science
• The Complete How to Figure It
• Computer Sciences
• Computer Technology Innovators
• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
• Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century
• Elsevier's Dictionary of Biology
• Encyclopedia of Evolution
• Encyclopedia of Marine Science
• Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society
• Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
• Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
• Endangered Animals: A Reference Guide to Conflicting Issues
• The Gale Encyclopedia of Science
• Global Climate Change Impact in the United States
• Great Lives from History: Scientists and Science
• The History of Modern Science and Mathematics
• The History of Science and Technology: A Browser's Guide to the Great Discoveries, Inventions, and the People Who Made Them, from the Dawn of Time to Today
• The History and Use of Our Earth's Chemical Elements
• Internet Innovators
• Journeys of Women in Science and Engineering: No Universal Constants 
• Ladies in the Laboratory
• Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
• Math Equals: Biographies of Women Mathematicians + Related Activities
• McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
• Notable Women in the Life Sciences
• The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
• Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
• Pioneering Women in American Mathematics
• Real-Life Math: Everyday Use of Mathematical Concepts
• Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
• Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
• Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Environmental Issues
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Science, Technology, and Society
• Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Environmental Issues
• Textbook of Biochemistry: With Clinical Correlations
• The Universal Book of Mathematics: From Abracadabra to Zeno's Paradoxes
• Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
• The Variety of Life: A Survey and a Celebration of All the Creatures that Have Ever Lived

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.