Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Research Guide to Psychology: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching psychology

Anatomy of a Research Article

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

bipolar   OR   manic depressive
anorexia   OR   eating disorder
evolutionary psychology   OR   genetic psychology  /span>

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building 
  • the item's  Call Number
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

NOT ENOUGH INFO? Try our multi-disciplinary databases:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Print Reference Materials

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

  • Addictions & Substance Abuse (Ref) RC564.65 .A33 2013
  • American Psychiatric Glossary (Ref) RC436 .S76 2003
  • American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Alzheimer Disease and Other Dementias  (Ref) RC523 .A48 2009
  • APA Dictionary of Psychology  (Ref)  BF31 .A65 2015
  • APA Handbook of Multicultural Psychology  (Ref) HM1271 .A63 2014
  • Blackwell Handbook of Social Psychology: Group Processes  (Ref)  HM131 .B53 2003
  • Body Image: A Handbook of Science, Practice, & Prevention (Ref) BF697.5 .B65 B617 2011
  • Cambell's Psychiatric Dictionary (Ref) RC437 .H5 2009
  • Classic Experiments in Psychology  (Ref)  BF198.7 .M66 2004
  • The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology  (Ref) BF31 .E5 2010
  • Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5  (Ref Desk) RC470 .D47 2013
  • The Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5  (Ref Desk) RC455.2 .C4 D536 2013
  • The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV  (Ref Desk) RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000
  • A Dictionary of Psychology (Ref) BF31 .C65 2015
  • Gender, Sex, and Sexuality  (Ref) PN56 .S5 G56 2014
  • Handbook of Adolescent Behavioral Problems: Evidence-Based Approaches to Prevention and Treatment  (Ref) RJ503 .H266 2005
  • Handbook of Adolescent Psychology (Ref) BF724 .H33 2009
  • Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science  (Ref) BF721 .H242 2015
  • Handbook of Children and the Media (Ref) HQ784 .T4 H29 2012
  • Handbook of Parenting  (Ref) HQ755.8 .H357 2002
  • Handbook of Psychology  (Ref)  BF121 .H1955 2003
  • Handbook of School Psychology  (Ref)  LB1051 .H2356 2009
  • Handbook on Sexual Violence  (Ref) HV6556 .H38 2012
  • Interpersonal Processes  (Ref) HM132 .I5 2003
  • Kaplan & Sadock’s Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry  (Ref) RC454 .C637 2009
  • The Language of Mental Health: A Glossary of Psychiatric Terms  (Ref) RC437 .L28 2011
  • Learning and Memory (Ref) BF121 .H1955 2003
  • The Oxford Handbook of Eating Disorders (Ref) RC552 .E18 O97 2010
  • The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology  (Ref) BF204.6 .O95 2009
  • The Oxford Handbook of Stress, Health, and Coping (Ref) RA785 .O94 2011
  • The Oxford Handbook of the Psychology of Appearance  BF697.5 .B63 O94 2012
  • The Pocket Guide to the DSM-5 Diagnostic Exam (Ref Desk) RC470 .N87 2013
  • A Primer for ICD-10-CM Users: Psychological and Behavioral Conditions (Ref) RC455.2 .C4 G662 2014
  • A Primer on Mental Disorders: A Guide for Educators, Families, and Students  (Ref)  RC454 .P684 2001
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association  (Ref Desk) BF76.7 .P83 2010
  • The Sage Handbook of Social Psychology  (Ref)  HM1033 .S24 2003
  • A Short Guide to Writing about Psychology  (Ref) BF76.8 .D86 2011
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Abnormal Psychology  (Ref) RC454 .T286 2009
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Educational Psychology  (Ref) LB1051 .T167 2017
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Family and Personal Relationships (Ref) HQ536 .T35 2010
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Human Sexuality  (Ref) HQ18 .U5 T35 2010
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Lifespan Development  (Ref) BF713 .T35 2009
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Psychological Issues  (Ref)  BF149 .T34 2010
  • Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives  (Ref)  HV6250.4 .G57 V558 2013
  • Youth Substance Abuse: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV4999 .Y68 N49 2016

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

 

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography