Gulliver's Travels (1726): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Full text of Swift's Gulliver's Travels is available on the Web at:

• University of Toronto
• Project Gutenberg

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

A downloadable audio file is available at Lit2Go from Florida State University.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Gulliver's Travels. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• British Writers [vols 2, 3, 4, 7]
• The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vols 2, 4]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
• Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
  
• The Dictionary of Imaginary Places
• The Library of Literary Criticism [vol 3]
  
• Literature and Its Times [vol 1]
• Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vols 1, 42, 101] - check under Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World, in Four Parts; By Lemuel Gulliver in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
• Masterplots [vol 5]
  
• Novels for Students [vol 6]
• Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vol 126] - locate the topical essay "Law and Literature"
    
• World Literature and Its Times [vol 3]

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

• Swift, Jonathan
  
• Gulliver's Travels
  

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Jonathan Swift, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Gulliver's Travels.

Searchable, full-text versions of the novel:

When researching Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels, you might find the following library video useful. You can view the full transcript of the video, and you can quote and cite easily from the text. If of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change periodically, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit:

Using a citation generator from a database or website? Double-check to be sure the generator has used the current rules.