Fences (1985): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Fences  To access these resources from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

If of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access multimedia resources.

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

• Wilson, August

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about August Wilson, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Fences and August Wilson. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• The African-American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped our Country
• American Diversity, American Identity
• American Writers, suppl. 8
• August Wilson's Fences: A Reference Guide
• Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors over the Past 200 Years, vol. 3
• Contemporary Black Biography, vols. 7, 33, 55
• Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays
• The Contemporary Encyclopedia of Modern Drama, vols. 1, 2
• Contemporary Dramatists
• Critical Survey of Drama, vol. 8
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, vol. 2
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places, vol. 1
• Cyclopedia of World Authors , vol. 5
• Drama Criticism, vols. 2, 31
• Drama for Students, vol. 3
• Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, vol. 5
• Encyclopedia of African-American History, 1986 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century, vol. 5
• Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, vol. 5
• Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them, vol. 4
• Masterpieces of African-American Literature
• Masterplots, vol. 4
• Masterplots II: African American Literature Series, vol. 1
• Masterplots II: Drama Series, vol. 2
• Modern American Drama
• Modern Black Writers
• The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
• A Reader's Guide to Modern American Drama

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.