Circulating Materials
To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.
Try synonyms and related terms:
bipolar OR manic depressive
anorexia OR eating disorder
evolutionary psychology OR genetic psychology
From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:
- the Location of the item in the Library Building
- the item's Call Number
- whether the item is available or has been checked out
To become more familiar with searching the Library's print collection, complete the General Library Tutorial.
Print Periodicals
Current and back issues of periodicals are located on the 3rd floor of the Library Building. Our collection includes:
Library Databases
Click on the links below to search for articles from
periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information
from electronic books. From off-campus, you will need to enter the
barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access
these resources.
PSYCH INFO
Contains
citations and abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books,
and dissertations; international journal coverage from 1887 to present
PSYCH ARTICLES
Full-text,
peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from the American Psychological
Association and other publishers; coverage spans 1894 to present
STAT!REF
Electronic
resources for health professionals, including full text of books like Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental
Disorders-IV
HEALTH & WELLNESS RESOURCE CENTER
Health
information both from periodicals and electronic reference books (such as
encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, etc.)
HEALTH SOURCE: CONSUMER EDITION
Articles
from popular medical and health periodicals, including psychology and
psychiatry journals
HEALTH SOURCE: NURSING / ACADEMIC EDITION
Health
information both from periodicals and electronic reference books (such as
encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, etc.)
PUB MED CENTRAL
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) digital archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature
EBRARY
Over 20,000 electronic books covering many subjects, including a substantial number of psychology titles
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Books like The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, Psychologists and Their Theories for Students, International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, and more
ABC-CLIO EBOOK COLLECTION (formerly Greenwood Digital Collection)
Book
titles like Understanding Personality Disorders, The Crisis in Youth Mental Health, Trauma
Psychology, and much more
CREDO REFERENCE
Book
titles like Bloomsburg Guide to Human
Thought,The Concise Corsini
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, The Encyclopedia of Child Development, and much more
NOT ENOUGH INFO? Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
ACADEMIC ONEFILE and ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER
Searching for Full Text
NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?
- Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.
For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.
Print Reference Materials
Find these materials in the Reference Section, located on the 2nd floor of the Library Building:
- APA Dictionary of Psychology (Ref) BF31 .A65 2007
- Blackwell Handbook of Social Psychology: Group Processes (Ref) HM131 .B53 2003
- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology (Ref) BF109.A1 B56 1997
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Growth and Development (Ref) QP84 .C26 1998
- Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health, and Medicine (Ref) R726.5 .C354 1997
- Classic Experiments in Psychology (Ref) BF198.7 .M66 2004
- The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV) (Ref Desk) RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000
- A Dictionary of Psychology (Ref) BF31 .C65 2001
- The Dictionary of Psychology (Ref) BF31 .C72 1999
- Encyclopedia of Human Emotions (Ref) BF531 .E55 1999
- The Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Ref) RC437 .K34 2001
- Encyclopedia of Psychology (Ref) BF31 .E52 2000
- Handbook of Child Psychology: Social, Emotional, and Personality Development (Ref) BF721 .H2424 1998
- Handbook of Psychology (Ref) BF121 .H1955 2003
- The Handbook of School Psychology (Ref) LB1051 .H2356 1999
- Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology (Ref) BF109.A1 P67 1991
- The Practical Researcher: A Student Guide to Conducting Psychological Research (Ref) BF76.5 .D864 1999
- A Primer on Mental Disorders: A Guide for Educators, Families, and Students (Ref) RC454 .P684 2001
- Psychology Basics (Ref) BF31 .P765 1998
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Ref Desk) BF76.7 .P83 2001
- The Sage Handbook of Social Psychology (Ref) HM1033 .S24 2003
- Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Psychological Issues (Ref) BF149 .T34 2006
- Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Abnormal Psychology (Ref) RC454 .T3 2000
- Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Controversial Issues in Educational Psychology (Ref) LB1051 .T35 2002
- Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms (Ref Desk) Z695.1.P7 T48 2001
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait