Skip to main content

Bartleby, the Scrivener: A Story of Wall-Street (1853): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Herman Melville's "Bartleby, the Scrivener: A Story of Wall Street"

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Read or Search Bartleby at Google Books

Read or Search Other Online Editions

Full text of Herman Melville's "Bartleby, the Scrivener: A Story of Wall-Street" is also available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Reference Material

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about "Bartleby, the Scrivener: A Story of Wall-Street." These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
  • The American Renaissance
  • American Writers [vol 3]
  • A Companion to Herman Melville
  • Critical Companion to Herman Melville: A Literary Reference to His Life and Work
  • Critical Survey of Short Fiction [vol 5]
  • The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vols 3, 4]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
  • Masterplots II: Short Story Series [vol 1]
  • Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 3, 12, 29, 49, 93, 123, 193] - check under "Bartleby, the Scrivener" in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
  • Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
  • Short Story Criticism [vols 1, 17, 46]
  • Short Stories for Students [vol 3]
  • Understanding Melville's Short Fiction: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Melville, Herman

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Herman Melville, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Bartleby, the ScrivenerIf not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography