Their Eyes Were Watching God (1937): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Their Eyes Were Watching God.  To access these resources from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Their Eyes Were Watching God and Zora Neale Hurston. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• African American Writers
• American Diversity, American Identity
• American Women Writers, vol. 2
• American Writers, suppl. 6
• Black American Women Fiction Writers
• Black Literature Criticism: Excerpts from Criticism of the Most Significant Works of Black Authors over the Past 200 Years, vol. 2
• Black Women in America, vol. 1
• Birth and Renewal (Bloom's Literary Themes)
• A Companion to Modernist Literature and Culture
• Contemporary Black Biography, vol. 3
• Critical Approaches: Multicultural
• Critical Companion to Zora Neale Hurston: A Literary Reference to Her Life and Work
• Critical Insights: Zora Neale Hurston
• Critical Survey of Long Fiction, vol. 4
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, vol. 4
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places, vol. 3
• Cyclopedia of World Authors, vol. 3
• Critical Survey of Long Fiction, vol. 4
• Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, vol. 3
• Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 - Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Present, vol. 2
• Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, vol. 5
• Facts on File Companion to the American Novel
• The Feminist Companion to Literature in English
• Great African-American Women
• The Harlem Renaissance (Bloom's Period Studies)
• Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion, vol. 2
• Harlem Renaissance and Beyond
• Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them, vol 3; suppl 1, part 2
• Major Characters in American Fiction
• Masterpieces of African-American Literature
• Masterplots, vol. 11
• Masterplots II: African American Literature Series, vol. 3
• Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series, vol. 6
• Modern American Women Writers
• New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Literature, vol. 9
• Notable American Novelists, vol. 2
• Novels for Students, vol. 3
• The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
• Student Companion to Zora Neale Hurston
• Understanding Zora Neale Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
• A Zora Neale Hurston Companion

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.