Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library services are online due to the COVID-19 outbreak: view the latest information

Orlando: A Biography (1937): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Virginia Woolf's Orlando: A Biography

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

See the Film

If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access online library multimedia resources.

This 1992 film is loosely based on Virginia Woolf's Orlando (1 hour, 34 minutes). It's directed by Sally Potter and stars Tilda Swinton, Billy Zane, Quentin Crisp, and Jimmy Somerville.

Other Books & Audiovisual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Virginia Woolf, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Orlando and Virginia Woolf. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • Bloom's Literary Guide to London
  • British Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide
  • British Writers, vol. 7
  • A Companion to Modernist Literature and Culture
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction , vol. 7
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, vol. 3
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places, vol. 2
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors, vol. 5
  • An Encyclopedia of British Women Writers
  • Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, vol. 3
  • The Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present
  • Gender, Sex, and Sexuality (Critical Insights)
  • LGBTQ Literature (Critical Insights)
  • Lives of the Novelists: A History of Fiction in 294 Lives‚Äč
  • Masterplots, vol. 8
  • Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series, vol. 4
  • Modern British Literature, vols. 3, 4, 5
  • The Penguin Companion to English Literature
  • Rebirth and Renewal (Bloom's Literary Themes)
  • The Trickster (Bloom's Literary Themes)
  • Virginia Woolf and 20th Century Women Writers
  • Women Memoirists, vol. 2

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography