LatinX - Hispanic Heritage Month 2023
Guide about Hispanics in Dance, Poetry, Theatre, Plastic Arts and others
Our America: the Latinx influence in the arts
Welcome to the Truxal Library guide in honor of LatinX - Hispanic Heritage Month 2023! This guide highlights library resources about LatinX - Hispanic contributions to the arts, in support of AACC's 2023 theme, Our America: The LatinX Influence in the Arts. If you are on campus, please visit the second floor of the library to see the accompanying exhibit.
This guide features:
Background Information about LatinX in the Arts
Selected Articles from Credo Reference
- To learn about Spanglish Rap. Visit the following article from the database Credo Reference. Garley, Matt. "Spanglish Rap." St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture, edited by St. James Press, 1st edition, 2018. Credo Reference,
- To learn about LatinX Theater, read this article from the database Credo Reference: Manzor, Lillian. "Theater." Keywords for Latina/o Studies, Deborah R. Vargas, et al., New York University Press, 1st edition, 2017. Credo Reference,
- To learn about Luis Valdez and El Teatro Campesino, read this article from the database Credo Reference Strand, G., & STRAND, G. (1999). VALDEZ, Luis. In S. R. Serafin (Ed.), Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century (3rd ed.). Gale. Credo Reference:
- To learn about Ritchie Valens, a singer who became extremely famous with his song "La Bamba"; read the following article"Ritchie Valens." The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, Phil Hardy, Faber and Faber Ltd, 3rd edition, 2001. Credo Reference,
- To learn more about performer of Afro Cuban Music and Rock Carlos Santana, read the following article from the database Credo Reference. "Carlos Santana." The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, Phil Hardy, Faber and Faber Ltd, 3rd edition, 2001. Credo Reference,
- To learn about Latino in Popular Music, please read the following article from the Credo Reference database,Prominent latinos in popular music. (2023). In N. Kanellos, Latino almanac: from early explorers to corporate leaders. Visible Ink Press. Credo Reference
- To learn about LatinX in the Teatre, please read from Credo Reference "Outstanding Latino Figures in the Theater." Latino Almanac: From Early Explorers to Corporate Leaders, Nicolas Kanellos, Visible Ink Press, 1st edition, 2023. Credo Reference,
Reference Books
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture –by Call Number: F1408.3 .C283 2004ISBN: 9780521631518Publication Date: 2004-03-29These essays analyse history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and consider the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America.
The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature –by Call Number: PQ7081 .A1 C353 2018ISBN: 9781107183087Publication Date: 2018-02-22The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature emphasizes the importance of understanding Latina/o literature not simply as a US ethnic phenomenon but more broadly as an important element of a trans-American literary imagination.
Great Lives from History: Latinos –by Call Number: Reference E184 .S75 G75 2012 Vols. 1-.3 & eBookISBN: 9781642656794Publication Date: 2021-04-30This new, second edition of Salem Press' best-selling Great Lives from History: Latinos features dozens of new profiles of the individuals who have defined Latino history in the United States,
Hispanic-American Writers –by Call Number: PS153 .H56 H56 2009ISBN: 9780791096239Publication Date: 2009-01-30This new edition of "Hispanic-American Writers" offers critical perspectives on the many Hispanic authors who have staked out a vibrant and burgeoning presence on the American literary scene.
Latinas in the United States, Set: A Historical Encyclopedia –by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253111692Publication Date: 2006-05-03Latinas in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia records the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States.
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature –by Call Number: PS508 .H57 N65 2011ISBN: 9780393080070Publication Date: 2010-09-13This groundbreaking Norton Anthology includes the work of 201 Latino writers from Chicano, Cuban-, Puerto Rican-, and Dominican-American traditions, as well as writing from other Spanish-speaking countries.
Fast Facts
- Hispanic Heritage Month always starts on September 15, a historically significant day that marks the anniversary of the independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. The designated period is also a nod to those from Mexico and Chile, which celebrate their independence on Sept. 16 and Sept. 18, respectively. - Census.gov
- Hispanic and Latino Americans are the largest ethnic minority, comprising 18.9% of the population, while Black Americans are the largest racial and the second largest ethnic minority, making up 12.6%. - USA Facts.org.
- Latinx is a term for a group identity used to describe individuals in the United States who have Latin American roots. Other names for this social category include Hispanic, Latino, Latina/o, Latine, and Latin@. Another term is simply "Latin", which by itself is of a neutral gender, and can be stated in the plural as "Latins." Latinx is used as an alternative to the gender binary such as Latina/o and Latin@, and is used by and for anyone of Latin-American descent who do not identify as either male or female, or more broadly as a gender-neutral term. - Wikipedia.
- La Asociación Nacional de Artes y Culturas Latinas offers opportunities for scholarships to LatixnX Recipients in the USA and Puerto Rico. Nalac is the main organization for the artistic realm.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography