Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Their Eyes Were Watching God. To access these resources from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
Hurston, Zora Neale
Their Eyes Were Watching God
You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Zora Neale Hurston, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Their Eyes Were Watching God. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- African American Writers
- American Diversity, American Identity
- American Women Writers [vol 2]
- Black American Women Fiction Writers
- Black Literary Criticism [vol 2]
- Bloom's Literary Themes: Birth and Renewal
- A Companion to Modernist Literature and Culture
- Contemporary Literary Criticism - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 7, 30, 61] - look forTheir Eyes Were Watching God in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- Critical Companion to Zora Neale Hurston: A Literary Reference to Her Life and Work
- Critical Insights: Zora Neale Hurston
- Eyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 4]
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century [vols 5]
- The Harlem Renaissance (Bloom's Period Studies)
- Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion [vol 2]
- Harlem Renaissance and Beyond
- Literature and Its Times [vol 3; suppl 1, part 2]
- Major Characters in American Fiction
- Masterpieces of African-American Literature
- Masterplots [vol 2]
- Masterplots II: African American Literature [vol 3]
- Masterplots II: Women's Literature [vol 6]
- Modern American Women Writers
- New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: Literature [vol 9]
- Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
- Novels for Students [vol ]
- The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
- Student Companion to Zora Neale Hurston
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 121, 131] - look forTheir Eyes Were Watching God in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 82] - locate the topical essay "Blues in Literature"
- [vol 86] - locate the topical essay "Folklore in Literature"
- [vol 102] - locate the topical essay "Jazz and Literature"
- [vol 106] - locate the topical essay "Animals in Literature"
- [vol 114] - locate the topical essay "Revising the Literary Canon"
- [vol 121] - locate the "Special Commissioned Entry on Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston"
- [vol 126] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on African-American Folklore and Literature"
- [vol 142] - locate the topical essay "Southern Gothic Literature"
- Understanding Zora Neale Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
- A Zora Neale Hurston Companion
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography